AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Write Allocation
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/25/2004 12:58 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
<< 1 2 Previous Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/03/2004 10:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Its just the report by setk6 at startup when the MTRRs were set up.

BTW I found that enabling the MTRRs introduced some display artifacts. I then read somewhere that the K6 MTRR was broken.

I'm using a K6-III 450MHz 2.2v on an Iwill motherboard - p55xub

I was unable run the motherboard at 83MHz.
 11/03/2004 10:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

often you need to loosen the RAM latency timings to be able to run at 83MHz FSB stabily.
 11/04/2004 07:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

mcmab -

Did you set the MTRR's properly? I had that problem...and the result was that the range I had selected was too large. Making it smaller cured that problem.

Are your ranges auto-detected? What video card?

Also, OK on the SetK6 RAM bandwidth. Every program calculates that differently though, as I'm sure you have seen.

eddaweaver - For sure...and I just proved that above on the Amptron!

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 11/22/2004 11:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mcmab
Member

Posts: 87
Joined: 10/06/2003

Had reason to run Memtest+ v1.26 last week. An upgrade to DirectX 9.0c produced a Kmode_not_handled BSOD in Direct3D. Tested memory and it was not the problem. Fortunately this is pretty much a strict 2D machine. (Any suggestions as to a fix would be welcome, it was error code 0xc000001d)

Memtest+ reported a main memory speed of 137MB/sec.

Contrast that to setk6 which reported 213MB/sec

I suspect that setk6 was using some part of the L3 memory.

When I dropped the DRAM page idle timer from 8 cycles to 6 the main memory speed went down to 124 MB/sec
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information