AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Windows XP @ AMD K6 / K6-2
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/06/2004 10:24 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/06/2004 10:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freezer
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

My problem is fairly easy: I cannot install Windows 2000/XP (NT4 not tried) to my PC, where is an AMD K6-2 500 MHz CPU running at 450 MHz (the board doesn't support faster CPUs). When I start to install it, the 1st (text mode) install completes, and when it starts to load the 2nd part of the setup (graphical), my PC reboots at the loading screen (the windows logo). When I insert there a Cyrix 233 MHz it works ok. I have a Zida or Tomato TX98-3D motherboard with the newest BIOS (1.20). I tried an AMD K6 233 MHz, but it does the same. Please help me!!! Now I have Windows 98 and it's CRASHING ALL THE TIME. And...
... sorry for my english.
 07/06/2004 01:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Change your multiplier to 2 and see if it boots up at 600MHz...

Works with cyrix, but not AMD...

So what is your RAM's rated speed, 66 or 100 MHz
How big is your power supply, the cyrix probably requires less power.

We really need more information on your components to help you out.

Later

MD

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 07/07/2004 06:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freezer
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

My RAM is running probably at 83 MHz, my power supply is AT 230W, but I tried an ATX 250W, but it didn't solve my problem. Now I have the AT. My RAM's max clock raito is 133 MHz. Detailed configuration of my PC:

- motherboard TX98-3D by Zida
- VIA VPX chipset (with 82C858VPX and 82C586B circuits)
- updated BIOS 1.20 (original was only 1.09 - it did not had support for faster AMD CPUs than 300 MHz)
- Matrox Millenium PCI 4MB video card
- SB Live! sound card
- ST Labs PCI to USB bridge
- 3Com Fast EtherLink network card

Somebody on an other forum recommended to install VIA All-In-One software.
 07/08/2004 01:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

freezer,

I think the recommendation would have been for 'VIA 4-in-one' drivers.

Run WCPUID, (or CrystalCPUID,) to get all the gory details about what CPU you currently have in there, and exactly what speed it's currently running at...
WCPUID is available for free here http://www.h-oda.com/' ">http://www.h-oda.com/
CrystalCPUID is available free, from this page http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en' ">http://crystalmark.info/?lang=en

If the machine will run properly with the Cyrix 233 MHz in it, then use that to load the OS of choice.
Once the OS is properly installed and working, swap back to the AMD K6-2 500 MHz CPU and run it (or attempt to) with your "Auto Jumper Yes" JP16 jumper set to 'disabled' (pins 2-3) and your FSB ("External Bus Speed") to 83 MHz, and your "Frequency Ratio" at 2.0x
With the AMD K6-2 500, it will internally 'translate' that 2.0x into 6.0x and you'll have 6.0x 83.3 MHz = 499.8 MHz

But you may not have enough power there with a 230 watt unit to run all of that stuff at that speed, and that could be what's causing the problem.

Get the OS loaded first, swap the CPUs, and then we'll talk, Okay?

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 07/09/2004 08:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
freezer
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 07/06/2004

I have installed WinXP Pro with the Cyrix. After this I changed the CPU to the AMD, set up the board to 2.2V, 83 MHz, 2x multiplier, but it didn't boot up. So I switched back to Auto Jumper Yes, but it didn't help. The PC speaker only beeps a few times (2 short, pause, 8 short). After the second turn-on, it doesn't beep. I swapped back the CPU to Cyrix - silence...

MD Willington, I think the the power supply is big enough, because I tried to boot to XP with AMD K6 233 MHz, and it does the same.
 07/09/2004 12:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Is that AWARD or AMI BIOS?

The beeps are telling you something, depending on the BIOS...

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
 07/09/2004 03:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

try unplugging the power and data (ide) cables from the cdrom and see if it does the same thing with the K6-2.ive had this problem with my setup as well where i could not get it up to full speed,changing the psu solved all of that.by all means it should work with your amd cpu,maybe their is a conflict of some kind with your amd cpu,then again im not much of a software guru either...


Charlie.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 07/09/2004 05:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

@ KachiWachi,
That's an AMI BIOS on his Zida TX98-3D

@ freezer,
You can find out what all the AMI 'beep codes' mean here...
http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/sys/beep/ami.htm' ">http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/sys/beep/ami.htm
It would seem to be a memory problem at first glance.

Have you tried to 'clear CMOS' ???

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
 07/09/2004 07:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

I'm not 100% certain, but I have a vague idea that the problem could relate to the Via VPX chipset. The fact that a K6-2 233MHz was giving you aggro goes some way to confirming my hunch, wich is either a lack of voltage support or a need to run the K6-2 in a certain configuration.

http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/mb5804.htm' ">http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/mb5804.htm

http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/vpx.htm' ">http://www.aberdeeninc.com/abcatg/vpx.htm
http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=155&p=17' ">http://www.anandtech.com/showdoc.html?i=155&p=17




Possible Cause

1)

This is an old chipset, and you could be asking too much running at this speed. Aim for 233MHz to begin with so that you aren't pushing the voltage regulators too hard. Also double-check the core voltage & CPU type (P55c, 2.2v core).

2)

This is a hunch..

Are you running the FSB in Asynchronous mode, i.e

75MHz
2/3 Dividor

= 33MHz PCI

Or in Synchronous mode, i.e

75MHz
1/2 Dividor

= 37.5MHz PCI

Some chipsets like the TX Pro (PC Chips M571), won't run the K6-2 in asynchronous mode, unlike the Cyrix chips which don't mind running in either asynchronous or synchronous mode. It may be a similar problem here.

Set the FSB to 66MHz (x3.5) and the dividor to 1/2 to give a PCI bus speed of 33MHz. Then if it's stable go to 75MHz, but do not use 83MHz because this can damage any components connected to your PCI bus, including your IDE devices because the PCI speed would be 41.5MHz. It's OK to run Cyrix chips at 83MHz in asynchronous mode because the dividor guarantees that the PCI bus is kept in check, 33MHz but this FSB is not 'officially' supported by this board.

So here's what I would try in addition to what our friends have suggested:

1) Power down completely & make sure your CPU & memory are firmly seated.

2) Check your CPU core voltage & CPU type: 2.2v core, P55c.

3) Set the FSB to 66MHz & the multiplier to 3.5x to give 233MHz.

4) Check the dividor ratio: set to 1/2 & not 2/5 for the K6-2 (maybe).

5) Check DIMM voltages: 3.3v (OT Never mix EDO/FPM & SDRAM DIMMS).

6) If stable, raise the FSB to 75MHz. This will ensure that your PCI components can take 37.5MHz (most can, always best to check), and will also take the core speed to 262MHz, ensuring that the voltage regulators can take the load.

7) If stable, keep increasing the multiplier bearing in mind the limitations of your board. 6 x 75MHz to give 450MHz is really the top end and it will be asking a lot of the CPU voltage regulators which were only really designed for slower processors.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 07/09/2004 07:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

The info about the bus dividor ratio is just a hunch, but it's worth a try if it can get that K6-2 firing on all cylinders. I had a Cyrix 300 before I managed to finally get a K6-2 300 running and I didn't look back.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 07/09/2004 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

Wildcard

Nice Catch!
I really think you're onto something there...

You took me back to my PCChips M571LMR days... it had an 'undocumented' jumper setting for 83.3, but unless you used a Cyrix chip, or set that 'other' jumper to CPU Clock/2 so that the PCI bus was at 41.6, it simply wouldn't run the AMD CPU at 83.3... but no problem with the Cyrix.

But, with the PCI bus at 41.6 I don't think the on-board vid would work any more.
It was a lot of fun, and I learned a lot, some of which I have obviously forgotten!

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information