AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Processor Problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/17/2004 04:53 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/17/2004 04:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
for19for20
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/17/2004

hello all, i am new to the AMD forums and i hope you take it easy on me. i think i have fried the processor on my computer (specs below) but am not sure, when i hit the power button the fans all come on as does the hard drive and DVD-RW drive, but there is nothing on the monitor, i cleared the CMOS and still nothing, can anyone confirm my nightmare ??? im not sure if any of you's are familiar with everquest but i am looking for memory and processor upgrades i was wondering which ones i should get, any suggestions, thanks


AMD Duron 1.3Ghz
384MB SDram
60Gig Western Digital 5600RPM HD
Sony DVD-RW (not sure of speeds right now)
Nvidia Geforce 5600 FX 256MB DDR, Dual-DVI
Sound Blaster Audigy
768KBPS DSL Internet Connection

p.s. my board supports any Athlon/Duron/Athlon XP up to 266MHz FSB
p.s.s. yes i am poor and my computer is junk i know, but it was a gift and it works, i guess

thanks

-------------------------
Intel Sucks, AMD For Life

ECS K7S5A Pro MOBO
AMD Duron 1.3GHz Processor
384MB PC133 SDRAM
60Gig 5200 RPM ATA Western Digital HDD
Sony DVD+/-RW Drive
Nvidia Geforce 5600 FX, 256MB DDR, Dual-DVI
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Sony DVD ReWriter, Check It Out' ">http://www.g8technologies.com/...ogies/dvd-sonu14a.html
 07/17/2004 05:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ChenMonWah
Member

Posts: 134
Joined: 03/06/2004

It could be the processor, but I don't think thats enough information for anyone to conclude anything. If you think its the processor, what I would do is take the processor out and take to a shop and have them check it out. I don't think they would charge you for something like that. Good luck!
 07/17/2004 05:54 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
for19for20
Junior Member

Posts: 4
Joined: 07/17/2004

yeah sorry for the blunt questions before, i took the whole computer apart and found out that the problem was a short in the power supply because of dust, so i got the computer all cleaned out and now it is working like a champ, again sorry for not giving any detail i was kinda frustrated, thanks

-------------------------
Intel Sucks, AMD For Life

ECS K7S5A Pro MOBO
AMD Duron 1.3GHz Processor
384MB PC133 SDRAM
60Gig 5200 RPM ATA Western Digital HDD
Sony DVD+/-RW Drive
Nvidia Geforce 5600 FX, 256MB DDR, Dual-DVI
Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Sony DVD ReWriter, Check It Out' ">http://www.g8technologies.com/...ogies/dvd-sonu14a.html
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information