AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: WinXP on Jabil Athlon 1.1ghz?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/29/2004 12:57 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/29/2004 12:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jburnett
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/29/2004

I've inherited a Gateway select 1100 that I'm trying to install Windows XP Professional on. The motherboard is a Jabil 1.1 with the KT-133 chipset.

After removing all the various cards, except for the video and firewirecard, I've finally been able to get XP seemingly stabil. I've since learned from VIATech's website that the KT-133 chipset is not XP certified. They some boards will work, some won't.

I downloaded the updated chipset drivers, but when I went to install them, it said that the chip was disabled and that I was to go into my Bios and enable it. I went in, but it didn't give me that option.

My question is, before I go out and buy new hardware that's supported by XP, is this going to be just a exercise in futility? Is it even possible to run XP on this system?
 07/29/2004 08:41 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Charlie22911
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3278
Joined: 04/09/2004

Ive seen people run xp on a pentuim 133Mhz system with no problem so i highly doubt compatibility is an issue.then agin im not an expert yet.
QUOTE After removing all the various cards, except for the video and firewirecard, I've finally been able to get XP seemingly stabil
sounds like a weak or dieing power supply.
what are the ratings on the 12v line?
they should be on a sticker.

-------------------------
Desktop:
Phenom II x6 1055T @ 4GHz | 4x2GB Patriot DDR3 1600 @ 2000 | 3x AMD Radeon HD6970 Crossfire

Laptop:
Core i7 2960xm @ 4.2Ghz | 4x4GB Kingston DDR3 1866 | 2x GTX 580m SLI OC 725/1450/1500
 08/01/2004 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-Milt-
Senior Member

Posts: 1722
Joined: 03/15/2004

jburnett,

I'm inclined to agree with Charlie's diagnosis... weak PSU.
What are the +3.3v, +5.0v, and +12.0v 'A' or 'Amp' ratings, from the sticker on the side of your PSU?

The VIA KT133 chipset can not run at 133 MHz, and all XP type processors run at 133 MHz, or faster.
The VIA KT133A chipset IS capable of 133/133
Maybe that's what VIATech's website was refering to?

When you first try to install WinXP you have the option of running a 'compatibility check'.
Did you run it?

-------------------------
Here is my new PCChips M848A' ">http://img.photobucket.com/alb...2_T-2-3-3-6-2_M848.jpg v2.1, with a 1700+ @ 2411 MHz, and my trusty old PCChips M810L' ">http://members.lycos.co.uk/mmm...00MHz_Sandra_tests.jpg v7.1A, with a Barton 2500+ @ over 3500+. Some of my fancy cars are on this pag
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information