AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 133 FSB Athlons Downward Compatible with 100 FSB?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2005 04:36 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2005 04:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theleetbeagle
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/01/2005

I have an Asus A7V board that we all know runs Duron/Athlon chips clocked at 100/200Mhz.

The question I have is, can I buy an Athlon 1.4 clocked at 133/266Mhz and put it in the A7V? It may not be what the board calls for, but are there any settings that I can adjust to make it work?

Please let me know.

Thanks.

-Nick.
 11/07/2005 12:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

Most processor do work at a lower speed simply beacuse safe boot on the mainboard will almost always bring the processor up at 100MHz FSB...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 11/07/2005 04:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

A few A7Vs support 133MHz FSB - look for "686B" on the bridge chip if it is a rev 1.05 board.

The Thunderbird 1.4GHz for 133MHz FSB has a 10.5 multiplier by default. This means it's going to run at 1050MHz by default on 100MHz FSB. If I remember correctly, the multiplier block on the A7V goes up to 12.5x - this means you can set it up to that multiplier if you unlock the chip (if it isn't already), which is a fairly easy procedure as you only need to connect the L1 bridges with a pencil.

From memory, the 1.4 should interpret a 5x multiplier as 14x too! See here:
http://www.a7vtroubleshooting.com/info/cpu/index.htm' ">http://www.a7vtroubleshooting.com/info/cpu/index.htm

In addition, the FSB can usually be overclocked safely to 105MHz, so long as you don't use RAID.
 11/07/2005 09:32 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
theleetbeagle
Junior Member

Posts: 8
Joined: 11/01/2005

Hrm. Sounds good. I'm probably better off just waiting for a 100mhz chip to show up on eBay. I really know nothing at all about the multipliers or overclocking or voltages, etc.

I think I trashed a Mobile 1.3 b/c it showed up as 500mhz and I was trying to "fix" it with the multipliers. Now, it no longer boots. /sad.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='sad.gif' />

-Nick.
 11/08/2005 06:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

The 1.4GHz Athlon Thunderbird for 100MHz FSB is rare and very expensive though.
I don't see how fiddling with the multipliers could've damaged that 1.3GHz mobile chip, maybe the heatsink wasn't on right.
 11/08/2005 11:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

I got a new 266fsb board ill sell ya if your interested/

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information