Increase font size
Topic Title: Processor upgrade
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/23/2005 12:12 AM
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/23/2005 12:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Achilles,

Good evening:

I would like to get some guidance on the steps to replace a 700MHz Duron with a 1.3GHz Duron. My system is like 5 years old now but, it's still reliable and this upgrade will help a lot. I'm kind of new to this and I just want to make sure I'm doing it the right way. I'd like to know if the replacement is just a swap (can I use the same heatsink and fan?). Or if I need to get a new heatsink and fan? And what about that compound I've been hearing about, some kind of thermal grease I think it is, do I need that too? Where does it go? How do I remove the old chip?

I tried before but decided to quit because I was having a hard time. Do I need to remove all the drives and PCI cards and the power supply to reach the chip? Are there any special tools that I need for this? If it helps, I have a Compaq Presario 5WV254. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.
 09/25/2005 06:25 AM

Author Icon
watchin