AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD 751 Mobo Chipset---AGP running only at 1X
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/01/2005 05:01 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/01/2005 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
~zQ~
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2005

Compaq Presario 5900Z
Compaq AMD-751 Irongate Chipset
AMD Athlon 650 MHz Processor
AGP Video Card NVidia Geforce 256

I found out from SiSandra and another diagnostic tool saying I was running at 1X mode for my AGP vid card. It also stated that this chipset is able to run at 2X. Further reserach, I found in AMD's tech pages that was true. I am wondering how I can change this setting. Thanks for any help in advance!
 05/01/2005 06:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

More info here: http://www4.tomshardware.com/b...0021...0/index-02.html' ">http://www4.tomshardware.com/b...20000210/index-02.html. This issue had been resolved in the newer AMD-761 chipset.

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 05/01/2005 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
~zQ~
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2005

So is there no way of working around this without getting a new mobo?
I saw in the article that there was some way to change the AGP mode to 2X in the drivers, but I don't believe it said how.
 05/01/2005 08:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

You can give this a try: http://www.tweak3d.net/faq/faq...:gef...oub:inst:athlon' ">http://www.tweak3d.net/faq/faq...:gef:troub:inst:athlon

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
 05/03/2005 09:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
~zQ~
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 05/01/2005

Great. Thanks a lot for your help!
 05/03/2005 09:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jwsm
Senior Member

Posts: 491
Joined: 08/02/2004

NP. Hope you can get it working stable at AGP2x with that tweak.

-------------------------
There are two kinds of people in the computing world.....those who have lost data, and those who will.
If your data is worth anything, back it up!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information