AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Something die
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/23/2005 08:56 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/23/2005 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Luis.Duarte
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/21/2005

I was replacing my diskette drive for to make a BIOS upgrade. When I connected the computer and power it on, nothing occurs, no lights, no fan, no sounds. I checked the PSU disconnected from the motherboard and it gives only 5v, not 3.3v nor 12v. Is this the failed component?
The motherboard is an AOpen MK33 and the CPU is a Duron 950MHz.
 07/24/2005 04:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
eddaweaver
Senior Member

Posts: 1390
Joined: 03/10/2004

are you saying you tested the PSU with electrical testing equipment? And that the PSU isn't plugged into the motherboard?
 07/24/2005 09:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Luis.Duarte
Junior Member

Posts: 9
Joined: 07/21/2005

Exactly, I expected to see the different voltages 3.3, 5, 12v . To be sure, I did get a new brand PSU and all is operative. Doing the tests to this new PSU the results was the same (?) /mellow.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='mellow.gif' /> . It seems that the motherboard controls all the flow of electricity.

Fortunately was the PSU and not the mobo nor the CPU...

Thanks all the way.

Luis.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information