AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Maximum upgrade from ATHLON K7 XP 1300?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/24/2006 08:55 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2006 08:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Locman61
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/24/2006

Hi,I need to find out what the maximum CPU upgrade from my Athlon XP K7 1300 would be on a MSI (Micro Star) 6712 mobo but can't seem to find any info anywhere. Currently running with 1g ram and about to upgrade to 2g (max 3g on this board). Any ideas very much appreciated! TIA.

[ WCPUID Version 3.3 © 1996-2004 By H.Oda! ]

Processor #1 : AMD Athlon XP (Model A) / 9CB62768
Platform : Socket A (Socket 462)
Vendor String : AuthenticAMD
CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
Family : 6 (7)
Model : 10 (10)
Stepping ID : 0 (0)
Brand ID : - (-)
APIC : ----
HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
Name String : AMD Athlon™

Internal Clock : 1300.03 MHz
System Bus : 200.00 MHz DDR
System Clock : 100.00 MHz
Multiplier : 13.0

L1 I-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 D-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 T-Cache : ----
L1 Cache : ----
L2 Cache : 512K Byte
L2 Speed : 1300.03 MHz (Full)

MMX Unit : Supported
SSE Unit : Supported
SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
SSE3 Unit : Not Supported
MMX2 Unit : Supported
3DNow! Unit : Supported
3DNow!+ Unit : Supported

Host Bridge : 1106:3189.00 [VIA Apollo KT400/A]
South Bridge : 1106:3177.00 [VIA VT8233A]
VGA Device : 1002:5961.01 [ATI RADEON 9200 Series]
Memory Size : 1024M Byte
Memory Clock : ----

OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2

WCPUID available at http://www.bootdisk.com/utility.htm
-------------- : -----------------------------------
 09/24/2006 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Locman61
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Locman61
Hi,I need to find out what the maximum CPU upgrade from my Athlon XP K7 1300 would be on a MSI (Micro Star) 6712 mobo but can't seem to find any info anywhere. Currently running with 1g ram and about to upgrade to 2g (max 3g on this board). Any ideas very much appreciated! TIA.

[ WCPUID Version 3.3 © 1996-2004 By H.Oda! ]

Processor #1 : AMD Athlon XP (Model A) / 9CB62768
Platform : Socket A (Socket 462)
Vendor String : AuthenticAMD
CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
Family : 6 (7)
Model : 10 (10)
Stepping ID : 0 (0)
Brand ID : - (-)
APIC : ----
HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
Name String : AMD Athlon™

Internal Clock : 1300.03 MHz
System Bus : 200.00 MHz DDR
System Clock : 100.00 MHz
Multiplier : 13.0

L1 I-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 D-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 T-Cache : ----
L1 Cache : ----
L2 Cache : 512K Byte
L2 Speed : 1300.03 MHz (Full)

MMX Unit : Supported
SSE Unit : Supported
SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
SSE3 Unit : Not Supported
MMX2 Unit : Supported
3DNow! Unit : Supported
3DNow!+ Unit : Supported

Host Bridge : 1106:3189.00 [VIA Apollo KT400/A]
South Bridge : 1106:3177.00 [VIA VT8233A]
VGA Device : 1002:5961.01 [ATI RADEON 9200 Series]
Memory Size : 1024M Byte
Memory Clock : ----

OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2

WCPUID available at http://www.bootdisk.com/utility.htm
-------------- : -----------------------------------




OK actually managed to answer this one myself! It is a massive Athlon XP 3000 (333fSb)! Superb.
http://www2.amd.com/us-en/Proc...echn...html?1148333755
 09/26/2006 12:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

Hi Locman61,

You don't need to upgrade - you already have a 3000+ Barton:

13.0 x 166MHz FSB = 2167MHz core speed
512K L2 cache (all Bartons have 512K).

You will need to fully power down, then change the FSB speed from 100MHz to 166MHz. Your board uses a 100MHz FSB for initial compatibility reasons.

The 3000+ does draw a fair amount of current, so check your PSU capacity (in watts), as well as the individual current ratings for each voltage rail (in amps), usually on the side of the PSU.

Memory..check first to see if there is a compatibility chart on the motherboard manufactuer's site. Mixing different brands of memory as well as capacities can be problematic.

Also, for 3D games that Radeon 9200 will really hold you back.

Hope this helps

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 09/26/2006 05:36 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Locman61
Junior Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 09/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: Wildcard
Hi Locman61,

You don't need to upgrade - you already have a 3000+ Barton:

13.0 x 166MHz FSB = 2167MHz core speed
512K L2 cache (all Bartons have 512K).

You will need to fully power down, then change the FSB speed from 100MHz to 166MHz. Your board uses a 100MHz FSB for initial compatibility reasons.

The 3000+ does draw a fair amount of current, so check your PSU capacity (in watts), as well as the individual current ratings for each voltage rail (in amps), usually on the side of the PSU.

Memory..check first to see if there is a compatibility chart on the motherboard manufactuer's site. Mixing different brands of memory as well as capacities can be problematic.

Also, for 3D games that Radeon 9200 will really hold you back.

Hope this helps



Thank you Wildcard! Any other tweaks possible?

[ WCPUID Version 3.3 © 1996-2004 By H.Oda! ]

Processor #1 : AMD Athlon XP (Model A) / 99945C2B
Platform : Socket A (Socket 462)
Vendor String : AuthenticAMD
CPU Type : Original OEM Processor (0)
Family : 6 (7)
Model : 10 (10)
Stepping ID : 0 (0)
Brand ID : - (-)
APIC : ----
HT Log.CPU Cnt : ----
Name String : AMD Athlon™ XP 3000+

Internal Clock : 2171.59 MHz
System Bus : 334.09 MHz DDR
System Clock : 167.05 MHz
Multiplier : 13.0

L1 I-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 D-Cache : 64K Byte
L1 T-Cache : ----
L1 Cache : ----
L2 Cache : 512K Byte
L2 Speed : 2171.59 MHz (Full)

MMX Unit : Supported
SSE Unit : Supported
SSE2 Unit : Not Supported
SSE3 Unit : Not Supported
MMX2 Unit : Supported
3DNow! Unit : Supported
3DNow!+ Unit : Supported

Host Bridge : 1106:3189.00 [VIA Apollo KT400/A]
South Bridge : 1106:3177.00 [VIA VT8233A]
VGA Device : 1002:5961.01 [ATI RADEON 9200 Series]
Memory Size : 1024M Byte
Memory Clock : ----

OS Version : Windows XP Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2





 09/30/2006 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazwegion
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 02/03/2006

Well, running your FSB (front side bus) frequency higher than 166Mhz (333 = 2*166) will give you an even higher than stock processor speed... this is called OverClocking, a process that should only be undertaken in small increments till you find the max stable speed

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information