AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New AGP card with Compaq Presario 5WV287
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/24/2006 10:52 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/24/2006 10:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vicarius31
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/24/2006

Hi folks,

I've read the thread regarding the CPU upgrade for Compaq 06E4h UWAVE card, and
I understand I can go up to Thunderbird 1.4 GHz FSB100 only.

But I like to change the current graphic card (RIVA TNT2 M64 Pro as given by WCPUID). It seems
this is an AGP 4x port. But quoting this look up at VIA Arena WEB site:

...There are 2 different versions of the Apollo Pro133, the Apollo Pro133 and Apollo Pro133A. Only motherboards based on the Apollo Pro133A support AGP4X transfers. The North Bridge of Apollo Pro133 motherboards will be labeled VT82C693A and Apollo Pro133A motherboards will be labeled VT82C694X...


it seems any AGP 4x will be accepted but only at 2X speed since my mobo is KT133 equiped.

I'd like to change that card with A DVI output. I've seen that Saphire Radeon 9250 AGP 8x/4x
Radeon 9250

Will it fit? Any other like this cheap one?

Thanks for your answers.
 09/24/2006 11:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CyrusT
Senior Member

Posts: 353
Joined: 04/15/2004

I would go up to atleast a 9550. It is directx 9.

-------------------------
Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket
 09/24/2006 03:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Wildcard
Senior Member

Posts: 929
Joined: 02/14/2004

General caution: Using a 4x/8x card can cause damage on 1x/2x chipsets.

AGP SPECIFICATIONS

AGP 1.0

1x (3.3v)
2x (3.3v)

This is the spec of your AGP slot.


AGP 2.0

2x (3.3v)
4x (1.5v)

The 2.0 spec is bacwards-compatible with v1.0. So 2x/4x cards can run at 2x speeds and voltages.


AGP 3.0

4x (1.5v)
8x (0.7v)

The 3.0 spec is bacwards-compatible with v2.0 only. So 4x/8x cards can run at 4x speeds and voltages.

---

The danger lies in the signalling voltages. If you installed an AGP 4x/8x card, you would be pumping 3.3v through a card that can only accept a maxmum of 1.5v.

So you need a card that is 2x/4x not 4x/8x. In other words the AGP 2.0 spec. The fact that it would be running at a lower AGP speed really isn't that much of a performance issue.

-------------------------
. AMD CPU Data: http://www.tomshardware.com/20.../amd...ult/page23.html & http://www.amdboard.com/amdid.html
. Belarc Advisor: http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html
. GPU Comparison for Laptops: <a href="http://www.notebookche
 09/24/2006 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

A 06E4h UWAVE is a board made by FIC, model AZ31, its not an Apollo Pro based chipset. It will take AGP 8x cards, working in AGP 4x mode. I ran a FX5600 agp 8x card for a while in such a set.

-------------------------
 09/25/2006 04:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vicarius31
Junior Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/24/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: go_for
A 06E4h UWAVE is a board made by FIC, model AZ31, its not an Apollo Pro based chipset. It will take AGP 8x cards, working in AGP 4x mode. I ran a FX5600 agp 8x card for a while in such a set.



Appolo Pro was given by WCPUID. The specs here 5VW287 specs say that it's a KT133 chipset. I don't know if KT133 = Appolo Pro??

The same specs show that the graphic card is "4X AGP (AGP 1.0/2.0 compliant)" but not 4x/8x.

quote:

Originally posted by: c00034548&dlc=en&tool=softwareCategory&product=93931&printable=yes&encodeUrl=true&" target="_blank">5VW287 specs say that it's a KT133 chipset. I don't know if KT133 = Appolo Pro??

The same specs show that the graphic card is "4X AGP (AGP 1.0/2.0 compliant)" but not 4x/8x.




The Radeon 9250 plaquette says this card
is "compatible with AGP 2x (3.3V), AGX 4x (1.5V) or AGP 2x/4x universal slot". So would it fit?

 09/25/2006 06:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
go_for
Alpha Geek

Posts: 3217
Joined: 01/21/2006

I never did figure out the Apollo naming convention, as this was mixed in many places. Its do with the combination Southbridge /Northbridge +versions. Anyway here is for the fic az31:

VIA Apollo KT133 (Northbridge VT8363+Southbridge VT82C686A) (ie. not Pro)

The radeon9250 may work, get the 128-bit memory bus version, much more efficient, the 64-bit version is weak.
If possible make sure you have an option to take it back if it does not work.



-------------------------
 09/25/2006 08:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
KachiWachi
Senior Member

Posts: 989
Joined: 06/11/2004

Being "compatible" with the slot does not necessarily mean compatible with the "voltage" (it is easy not to "key" the AGP connector...thus everything fits).

Make sure of the voltages...that's what's important here.

-------------------------
KachiWachi

Moderator - Wim's BIOS

CPU #1 - DFI 586IPVG, K6-2/+ 450 (Cyrix MII 433), 128MB EDO. BIOS patched by Jan Steunebrink.
CPU #2 - Amptron PM-7900 (M520), i200 non-MMX, 128MB EDO
CPU #3 - HP8766C, PIII-667, 768MB SDRAM
CPU #4 - ASUS P3V4X, PIII-733, 256MB SDRAM
CPU #5 - ??? ;)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information