AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Getting past Windows2000NT
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/30/2006 04:06 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/30/2006 04:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

So this is kind of an embarrasing question because I probably should know how to do this but I don't so here goes. Is there anyway besides reinstalling the OS to get past Windows2000NT password Protection at the log in screen????My friend has an old PC (pentium 3 555Mhz CPU, PC100 Ram) and we want to get into it but do not have the long forgotten password...any advice???


Also does anyone know the highest upgrade of CPU for a Pentium 3 chip (what is the socket)???

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 09/30/2006 04:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fastedie
Member

Posts: 158
Joined: 11/15/2004

Can you load windows in safe mode?
if so search for(*.pwf) file and delete it from dos. no-more password = what you want.

-------------------------
DFI NF4 Ultra D
AMD FX60 @ 2889.5 GHz
6800 geforce 256
 09/30/2006 09:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

burn the ultimatebootcd
http://www.ultimatebootcd.com/

i notice there is a tool called Offline NT Password & Registry Editor with a link to its homepage which is here http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/bootdisk.html
it does have its own floppy disk images and boot cd images and a link to other recovery options http://www.petri.co.il/forgot_...nistrator_password.htm

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 10/01/2006 02:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

downloaded the Boot CD now I just have to go over my friends and try it out...Thank you...I'll keep you posted.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 10/01/2006 03:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

ok.. if you have trouble, check out the options that are mentioned in that last link of my prior post

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 10/01/2006 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suzueya
Member

Posts: 135
Joined: 09/25/2005

Had the same problem on my NT 4 machine. Cake, (The Bios Fryer), over at K6Plus sorted it out by posting as follows :

cake
Post subject: Posted: Mar 30, 2006 - 03:03 PM

Bios Fryer


Joined: Jul 01, 2001
Posts: 215
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

http://home.eunet.no/pnordahl/ntpasswd/

Works like a charm when it comes to resetting passwords, been using it
on NT/2k and XP without a hitch.

_________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 10x220, Epox 8RDA3+
512 MB PC3200 KingMax
15 GB Quantum Fireball LCT + 60 GB Seagate Barracuda IV
Radeon 8500LE
 10/01/2006 11:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

I don't get it I made the boot disk by burning the ISO image onto a CD and made sure the files were correct (not the ISO but all the files that come out of it). This is Windows Server Family 2000 Built with NT technology. When I boot up the PC with this disk it does absolutely nothing different even though the boot order in BIOS puts the CD drive 1st. Any help is appreciated.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
 10/02/2006 12:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Suzueya
Member

Posts: 135
Joined: 09/25/2005

Must be doing something wrong. get back to you later on this.
 10/02/2006 02:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

do not extract the iso
burn it as is

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 10/10/2006 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greymattertripp
Member

Posts: 174
Joined: 08/27/2006

Got past the passoword now I have a new problem, look at the forum for the CD drive failure in this section.

-------------------------
[Inappropriate content removed.TLH]
ASUS A8N 939 NVIDIA NFORCE 4 at the southbridge
Powered by a Venice AMD Athlon 64 3800+ (2.4Ghz) processor
1GB DDR 400(PC3200)Dual Channel RAM (soon to be 2Gb: dual channel Corsair XMS 1GB)
200GB 7200RPM SATA HDD
ATI Radeon 512MB X1900 XTX (650Mhz) smooth as a baby's bottom
500W PurePower ThermalTake PSU WR0100RU (revised unit with a stable 12v 2.0 rail)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information