AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HDD not detecting
Topic Summary:
Created On: 05/04/2006 02:58 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 05/04/2006 02:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sumith
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 05/04/2006

hello,


i use a amd-K6 with "via vt82c598mvp2" motherboard, til this day i was using HDD with low capacity 20gb.
I bought a new 40Gb Seagate HDD inorder to upgrade, the sys detects the HDD but i cannot boot from the new 40 Gb HDD.

I heard i can make the sys boot frm the 40 Gb HDD by upgrading the BIOS,
Is this true?
and How can I do it?


Thankx
Sumith
 05/05/2006 08:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
tazwegion
Senior Member

Posts: 273
Joined: 02/03/2006

go to the motherboard manufacturers website, locate the latest BIOS, download it & any software required to flash the BIOS... install both to a bootable floppy disk, set boot -> drive A:

Follow the specific directions for that board provided by the manufacturer (on their site)

Most important, DO NOT POWER OFF during BIOS flash, as this will leave your BIOS in 'limbo' unable to boot @ all

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information