AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Problems loading windows
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/10/2006 08:28 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/10/2006 08:28 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thecrzyGreek
Senior Member

Posts: 689
Joined: 04/11/2005

I got a old 1.3ghz duron system. I am trying to reinstall windows but cant. After I format the drive it says the disk is damaged or corrupted and it cannot install windows on this drive press enter to select a different partition. I have tried another HDD and I still get the same thing. I have switched IDE channels with the CDrom and that didnt do it either. Also sometimes during POST the motherboard fails to detect the keyboard. Eventually after hitting the reset button a few times gets it to recognize it. The PSU is providing enough voltage and the CPU is idling at 45C. I have tried 2 different windows disks. I'm thinking the motherboard may be conking out on me. Any suggestions are welcome.

-------------------------
"We have lingered long enough on the shores of the cosmic ocean. We are ready at last to set sail for the stars." - Carl Sagan
"As long as there have been humans we have searched for our place in the cosmos. Where are we? Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than there are people. We make our world significant by the courage of our
 06/10/2006 08:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

What model motherboard is it?Do a bad caps check.

I had a hdd do that to me once.It would format the whole thing and then tell me it was corrupt and couldn't complete.I took a gig or so off the partition size and it worked a treat from there on.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 06/10/2006 08:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cowen1000
Senior Member

Posts: 857
Joined: 06/15/2004

Have you reset your Bios?

-------------------------
http://www.danasoft.com/sig/hankthomas.jpg
 06/11/2006 04:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
thecrzyGreek
Senior Member

Posts: 689
Joined: 04/11/2005

It was a combination of the CDROM drive and motherboard causing my problems. I got it all sorted out. Thanks for the help

-------------------------
"We have lingered long enough on the shores of the cosmic ocean. We are ready at last to set sail for the stars." - Carl Sagan
"As long as there have been humans we have searched for our place in the cosmos. Where are we? Who are we? We find that we live on an insignificant planet of a humdrum star lost in a galaxy tucked away in some forgotten corner of a universe in which there are far more galaxies than there are people. We make our world significant by the courage of our
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information