AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Fanless k6-2 550Mhz
Topic Summary: Can it be done?
Created On: 06/26/2007 04:04 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/26/2007 04:04 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Hi, just got and old/ugly pc running PCChips M598LMR + AMD k6-2 550Mhz. I'm planning to use it as firewall but the fan noise is killing me. Can this processor run fanless?.

In some future i'll maybe even mod the case or make a new one so it uses less phisical space and maybe look like a network appliance (if i found a tiny PSU that can provide enough power)...
 06/26/2007 04:39 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MSfree
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/07/2003

Originally posted by: cyruspy
Hi, just got and old/ugly pc running PCChips M598LMR + AMD k6-2 550Mhz. I'm planning to use it as firewall but the fan noise is killing me. Can this processor run fanless?.

You cannot run this CPU fanless with default settings, the CPU draws up to 25W which must be dissipated somehow.

For a firewall however, you do not need a 550MHz CPU. I undeclocked and undervolted a K2-400 for a similar purpose a few years ago. The system runs at only 166MHz with the lowest voltage the board would offer (AFAIR 2.0V). This system is still running fanless as an internet router, squid proxy, iptables firewall, mail server for a small engineering office with approx. 10 client PCs connected.
 06/26/2007 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Thanks for the input. And what about using a heatsink?, i'l be using it for VPN access too, and that's CPU hungry..
 06/26/2007 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MSfree
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/07/2003

Originally posted by: cyruspy
And what about using a heatsink?

Well, you need somthing bigger than the factory fitted thing, if you want to run it fanless. I used a heatsink desinged for socket-a Atlons which obviously required some modifications to fit the retention bracket to the CPU socket.
i'l be using it for VPN access too, and that's CPU hungry..

That really depends on the speed of your internet connection. The VPN software can only encrypt/decrypt as many bytes as there are arriving or leaving. With a typical 6MBit/sec DSL-connection, you will hardly reach a cpu limit.

For comparison:
I am running an 800MHz Epia at home that secures my WLAN with OpenVPN. Even at 2.8MByte/sec (54MBit WLAN limit) throughput the Epia only reaches around 40% CPU load. If I interpolate that for a 6MBit-DSL (=720kByte/sek), a 166MHz K6-2, would reach around 50-60% CPU load.
 06/26/2007 11:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MD - Moderator
Deployer of Mjölnir - House Keeping

Posts: 11102
Joined: 11/05/2003

A Socket A heat sink, good for a XP3200+ (77W) or even a Prescott processor (100W+) would be very good for running fanless. I ran a modified socket A heat sink & fan on an Intel P3 and it was very cool and quiet.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

Physics? Ha! This is clearly magic and devilry at work. Prepare firewood! We have witches to burn!


MODERATOR
 06/26/2007 07:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Is there any heatsink that would fit this k6-2 without modifications?
 06/27/2007 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MSfree
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/07/2003

Originally posted by: cyruspy
Is there any heatsink that would fit this k6-2 without modifications?

The socket-7 is a little smaller than socket-a (Athlon) or socket-370 (Pentium-III), so that you will have to cut off a little of a socket-a/370 heatsink.

There are no socket-7 heatsinks that I can remember to be large enough to run fanless.

The K6-2/400 mentioned before (running at 166MHz) would run rather hot and eventually crash after a few hours of heavy load, when I tried using the stock heatsink without the fan. The larger socket-a AMD stock heatsink has no problems keeping the CPU at safe temperatures.

You could even glue the heatsink to the CPU using 4 little (3mm diameter) drops of 2 components epoxy glue in the corners of the heatspreader with heat transfer compound applied to the rest of the heatspreader (also special heat transfer glue is available in some shops). The only problem here is, that you cannot remove the CPU from its socket anymore, the lever will be blocked by the heatsink. With old hardware like yours one should not plan on repairs so that this may be a feasable option for you avoiding any metal work.
 06/28/2007 04:03 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Well, already asked to many people for any heatsink that they may have at hand, waiting for their answer right now...

Removed the heatsink/fan combo and it seems large already :s
Am i looking just for bigger heatsink?, or maybe better metal?








This is the monitor data after half an hour of operation:

CPU TEMP: 42°C/107°F (although, we're on autumn with 7°C outside)
CPU FAN: 5356 RPM
Board +12.0V: 12.871v
Vcc 5.0v: 5.232v
Vcc 3.3V: 3.465v
Vcore: 2.469v

Edited: 06/28/2007 at 04:17 AM by cyruspy
 07/11/2007 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Well, got a pair of what seems to be proliant workstation's heatsink, the printed codes are:
IERC P602-1CB
219222-002

From https://www.serversupply.com/products/part_search/query.asp:

Description: HP/COMPAQ - P6 PRO CPU HEATSINK (ZIF/BLACK) PROLIANT 3000 6500 7000 850R PROFESSIONAL WORKSTATION 6000 8000 (219222-002)

Pics:



Can i make use of this to solve my problem?

Edited: 07/11/2007 at 10:11 PM by cyruspy
 07/11/2007 02:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MSfree
Member

Posts: 172
Joined: 10/07/2003

Originally posted by: cyruspy
Can i make use of this to solve my problem?

Pentium-Pros were rated up to 45W, Athlon Thunderbirds ran at something like 60-70W, thus Athlon heatsinks are more powerfull than those of PPros. Without fan, those coolers may be able to dissipate around 10-15W.

Your K6/2-550 is rated at 25W which means, you will have to reduce core speed and voltage to get that CPU within that range. My guess is, that you will reach 10-15W at around 1.9V core voltage and 250MHz core speed.

You will have to play around with the jumpers on your board to adjust FSB clock, CPU multiplier and core voltage.

BTW, I am running various computers fanless (fanless video card, fanless PSU, fanless CPU heatsink, no case fan), the fastest being an AMD Turion MT40, which sits below a Scythe Ninja to keep it truly fanless at 25W max CPU heat dissipation.
 07/11/2007 10:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

I would really like to keep it at it's stock speed... I'll keep looking for better heatsinks

All the replies are useful as always...

Edited: 07/12/2007 at 10:00 AM by cyruspy
 10/24/2007 09:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Hi, still didn't find a decent used heatsink. I'm going to order some things from geeks.com and found Socket A coolers there, so i'm going to get one too. Can you tell me which one is more suitable?
URL: http://www.geeks.com/products.asp?cat=FAN

Scroll to section "Socket A/370 CPU Fans"
 10/25/2007 06:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

ive got an Athlon XP Palamino HSF i used on a K6-3 400, it fits fine on the socket 7, i just used some pliers and bent the retention mechanism a little bit inwards and it fits like a charm, also runs really quite with the fan on it, its a 1500RPM fan, kept the K6-3 400 cool and the PSU made more noise, id be willing to give it up if your interested as the socket 7 board died.

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 10/25/2007 07:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Too bad i didn't hear from you earlier... Last night i ordered this one:
http://www.geeks.com/details.a...-SOCKETA-3800&cat=FAN

Hope i can adapt it to the k6, thanks a lot any way
 10/25/2007 11:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
candle_86
Case Modder

Posts: 1502
Joined: 02/20/2005

just make sure you dont have alot of caps around your socket, then bend the retention bracket a little downwards. Also it will go on with force as the ISH makes a higher differance on the K6 over the AXP

-------------------------
Core I7-3930k -- MSI GTX670 Quad SLI -- ASUS Rampage Extreme IV -- 4x4gb Muskin Redline DDR3 1866 -- 128gb SSD -- Windows 7 Ultimate
Phenom II 960T -- XFX HD4870 -- ECS IC780M -- 2x2gb DDR3 1333 -- 500gb HD -- Windows 7 Home Premium
 01/20/2008 10:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cyruspy
Member

Posts: 46
Joined: 08/20/2005

Well, got an stock Athlon heatsink (the one ordered from geeks.com), had to replace the retention bracket with the one from the original heatsink as there's not enought space around the processor. Right now it's working with the included fan, the old crappy case doesn't have a fan, so i'm not sure I should go fanless with the heatsink. At least the dying fan is not waking me up at night. There's still too much noise at night in my bedroom, with my workstation, the firewall (this k6-2) and the htpc :s
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information