AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: How to enable NCQ in Windows 7 x64?
Topic Summary: 790GX chipset, AHCI driver installed in Windows install and RaidXpert, but no config possible
Created On: 12/30/2009 04:44 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/30/2009 04:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Keitosha
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2009

I have a problem enabling NCQ on my SATA2 drives.
When i was using Vista 64, there was no problem, but it seems in W7 it is not that easy.

RaidXpert won't let me set some things like NCQ, because it won't show the config options. When installing W7 i installed the AHCI drivers, set AHCI witin the bios, updated the AHCI driver with the latest catalyst 9.12 AHCI driver.

But still, how can i enable NCQ? Are there other ways than using RaidXpert to do that?

EDIT:
I'm having the same thing on my wife's pc. Did the same as above with my pc and i also can't enable NCQ on her rig.
She's using a 780GX based mainboard and 2x SATA2 drives.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940
MSI KA790GX bios 1.6
OCZ 8GB PC6400 CL4-4-4-8 HPipe
Sapphire ATi HD4870 512MB
Recom PE-M600 PSU
Antec NSK4400 + 3 LED case fans
Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA-II
PCI USB 2.0 card (4x)
Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 / Sennh. HD477 / Logitech X-530
2x Optiarc AD-7173A PATA
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
 01/04/2010 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

What HDDs are you using exactly and how did you determine that NCQ is disabled ?

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 01/04/2010 04:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Keitosha
Newbie

Posts: 2
Joined: 12/30/2009

Don't know the models exactly, but all are Seagate SATA2 drives with 32MB cache and NCQ compatible.

I'm using PC Wizard to check NCQ status. When using Vista 64, i can enable NCQ just fine and PC Wiz says it is enabled. On W7 i can't enable it and PC Wiz says it is capable, but disabled.

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 940
MSI KA790GX bios 1.6
OCZ 8GB PC6400 CL4-4-4-8 HPipe
Sapphire ATi HD4870 512MB
Recom PE-M600 PSU
Antec NSK4400 + 3 LED case fans
Seagate Barracuda 1TB SATA-II
PCI USB 2.0 card (4x)
Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 / Sennh. HD477 / Logitech X-530
2x Optiarc AD-7173A PATA
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information