AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: AMD 790 Northbridge Filter Driver Will Not Install
Topic Summary:
Created On: 12/31/2009 07:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/31/2009 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightmare devil
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/31/2009

I recently built a new system with a Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P motherboard and the northbridge filter driver will not install with the ATI installer. I've tried it several times and I have used the custom option. The system reboots, I run the installer again, and it tells me the northbridge driver is not installed.
How in the world I'm supposed to install it and what does it serve to install it?

Thanks in advance
n.d.

ps: I already tried to completely disable UAC but this didn't help
I'm using a phenom II x3 720 and the named motherboard. I installed Win7 x64 on my system
 01/11/2010 12:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightmare devil
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/31/2009

*bump*
 01/12/2010 01:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Why would you install them ?
Is there a yellow-marked device in dev manager ?

That thing its most likely to do with sound filters for the on-board sound card, so I wouldn't worry about it at all unless you are getting sound issues.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 01/12/2010 03:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
nightmare devil
Newbie

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/31/2009

Well.. I thought I better should, to be honest :-)
Sound issues... not really, the HD sound filter by Realtek works quite good. Just sometimes, there's some rasping sound. But not constantly. Thought it might lead from a driver issue and double-checked the ATI installer.

Asked the other way around: shouldn't the northbridge filter driver install itself just the normal way? Is there a reason not to install it?
I always used to install chipset driver packages and ran good with it.
 02/06/2010 03:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
gadgetssound
Newbie

Posts: 16
Joined: 02/05/2010

Hello to every one same problem with me i can't got any solution of it. and i want resolve this problem as soon as possible.if u got some reasonable solution kindly tell me.
 02/06/2010 07:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hardwood
Case Modder

Posts: 1008
Joined: 02/16/2008

Don't worry about it. I've installed it a hundred times (give or take a few) and it does nothing. Even when it does install, the next time I try to update it, I'm informed by Catalyst install manager that it's not present.

There's lots of people worrying about the same thing (google it). Like Overmind suggests, unless there's a bad device in device manager, forget about it.

-------------------------
Spider: Phenom II 955, Antec Kuhler 920, GA-MA790FX-DS5 (F8g), ASUS 5870/V2, ASUS Xonar D2X pcie,
OCZ2N1066SR2GK (4x1gig @800), Antec Truepower New 750, Fractal Design's Arc Midi Case.
#2: A64 X2 4200+, ASUS A8V-D, SAPPHIRE AGP 1950PRO
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information