AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Will this work out?
Topic Summary: Planning on buying an AM3 CPU for my AM2/AM2+ Motherboard
Created On: 09/11/2010 12:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/11/2010 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
omgbrandon
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/11/2010

Hey everyone!
I'm pretty new to this forum so I'm hoping i posted this in the right place. Basically i have questions concerning using an AM3 CPU and using it on my AM2/AM2+ Motherboard. I will post my Motherboard model down below. I have been doing some research and i found that I may be able to use an AM3 processor on my motherboard. But then according to this, (mobo page) Text.
It says that "If you use AM3 / AM2+ CPU on AM2 chipset motherboard, the system bus speed will downgrade from HT3.0 (5200 MT/s) to HT1.0 (2000 MT/s), but the CPU frequency will not be influenced". I do not know if that will really affect my cpu or not so please let me know. Then if you look a little more down below under memory it has a red star next to DDR2 1066 and it says "support with AM3/AM2+ CPU". Does that mean i need 1066 DDR2 Memory?

Sorry if this might have been long but i just really need some answers

System Specs:
MOBO: ASRock ALiveNF7G-FullHD R3.0 AM2+/AM2 NVIDIA GeForce 7050
CPU:AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5200+ @2.83
RAM:4 GB DDR 800 RAM A-Data
GFX: BFG GTS 250
HD: WD Caviar Blue 250GB and Excelsor Technologies 30 GB HD
 09/11/2010 08:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

HT speed has very little effect on performance on single socket desktops, I wouldn't worry about it.

The ram note just means in order to use 1066 rated ram at 1066 speeds you would need an AM3/AM2+ CPU since the memory controller is in the CPU and it is the main limiting factor on ram speeds.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
 09/11/2010 09:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
omgbrandon
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 09/11/2010

Originally posted by: Edgemeal

HT speed has very little effect on performance on single socket desktops, I wouldn't worry about it.



The ram note just means in order to use 1066 rated ram at 1066 speeds you would need an AM3/AM2+ CPU since the memory controller is in the CPU and it is the main limiting factor on ram speeds.


Hey man thanks alot I really needed to know that. One more thing just for clarification, My mobo can support an AM3 processor correct? And im thinking of buying an Phenom ll X4 955 cpu so will that also work out?
 09/11/2010 10:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Overclocker

Posts: 565
Joined: 11/06/2005

I agree with HT not being a big performance hit. If the IMC/CpU-NB is at 1000mhz too and not 2000+ then you will see a hit.

-------------------------
Lad

I have had this name before the public announcement of L4D.
 09/13/2010 12:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Edgemeal
Overclocker

Posts: 708
Joined: 03/27/2007

Originally posted by: omgbrandon
Hey man thanks alot I really needed to know that. One more thing just for clarification, My mobo can support an AM3 processor correct? And im thinking of buying an Phenom ll X4 955 cpu so will that also work out?


You need to go to your motherboards web site and look at the CPU Support list for your board, it will most likely show the board revision (usually printed in the middle of the board) and the bios version required for each CPU the board supports.

In order to support a newer CPU you may need to flash the bios before installing the newer CPU.

-------------------------
MSI 770-C45
Phenom II X2-550 @ X4 @ 3.5GHz @ Stock Vcore.
Thermaltake Big Typhoon
2x2GB DDR3 1333 @ 9-9-9-24-33-1T
1x60GB SSD /1x300GB VelociRaptor / 1x320GB Seagate / 1xDVD 22X
Audigy2 / HD 6670 1GB / Acer 22" / Win7-64_Ult.
Antec SOHO / Antec BP550 Plus
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information