AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: SSD + 2 HDDs in RAID 1 on 790GX/SB750
Topic Summary: What are my options for RAID HDDs and good SSD performance?
Created On: 12/06/2010 05:13 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 12/06/2010 05:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cbman
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2010

I want to run the SSD as my boot disk, and have 2 HDDs in RAID 1 for storage. I would also like to have the option of booting WinXP on the HDDs.

I have a G.Skill 120GB Phoenix SSD and two 500GB Seagates. I was able to load windows 7 using the motherboard raid drivers for the SSD, but I seem to get poor performance using the raid driver. Using the RAID driver and with the BIOS in RAID I am only able to get 160MB/s sequential read speeds.

I am able to get 210MB/s sequential read speeds when I set the BIOS to AHCI and use the MS driver, but then I don't have hardware RAID.

Also, it appears that 2 of my 6 SATA ports always use IDE no matter what the BIOS settings are. Can IDE still pass on TRIM info?

So, does anyone have any suggestions on what the best configuration might be for me to get good SSD performance and use HDDs in RAID.

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 955 on Biostar TA790GXB3 MB
 12/07/2010 11:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cbman
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2010

I found a way to improve performance when my BIOS is set to RAID mode. In RAIDXpert it shows my SSD as a JBOD drive by default. I noticed that NCQ was disabled. Maybe the default preference for RAID drives is to have NCQ disable.

So, within RAIDXpert I enabled NCQ for the SSD. My sequential reads increased by ~50MB/s. So, this appears to be the best setup if I want hardware RAID for HDDs.

Although the performance is still not as good as it is in AHCI mode with the new AMD AHCI driver that supposedly supports TRIM.

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 955 on Biostar TA790GXB3 MB
 12/07/2010 08:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

MSAHCI is still better performer than AMD AHCI... but it is nice to have TRIM finally working on AMD's solution.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 12/14/2010 04:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cbman
Lurker

Posts: 3
Joined: 12/06/2010

I read in another post that TRIM can be passed on to a single SSD on a RAID controller.

So, what settings and drivers would I want to use for this to work. By default the SSD is recognized as a JBOD. Should it be setup as "RAID Ready" or JBOD? Are there any options for the AMD RAID Driver?

-------------------------
Phenom II X4 955 on Biostar TA790GXB3 MB
 12/14/2010 09:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
sequoia464
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 11/27/2010

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

MSAHCI is still better performer than AMD AHCI... but it is nice to have TRIM finally working on AMD's solution.



QB


I still have not seen confirmation anywhere from AMD that trim is working with their AHCI drivers. Lots of speculation, but has AMD themselves actually confirmed this yet??
 12/15/2010 09:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
A7ibaba
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 12/14/2010

Trim is not working with AMD AHCI drivers.10.12 tested.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information