AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: HD6770 only allows30hz refresh options on a 42" 1080p TV that reports edid up to 1080p@70
Topic Summary: My 785 onboard HD4200 could do 1080p on same tv for years, now this new card only allows >768p @ 30
Created On: 08/04/2012 01:25 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/04/2012 01:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fkez
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/04/2012

I am at a loss, so asking here finally.

Almost 2 years ago I got a (MSI) 785 board with discrete HD4200 - was a great card. I use it with my TV - 42" Insignia 1080p. [hdmi] OS: WinXP,Ubuntu,Win7

I wanted some more horsepower so I recently got a (MSI) Radeon HD6770. From that point, using the MSI drivers on CD, as well their website I noticed I was only able to use a 60hz option with 768p and lower resolutions. Going higher (and the options were weirdly limited), I could only use higher resolutions at 30hz.

I since have tried all the AMD Catalyst drivers (v12 series) and repeatedly have the same limited options. Though, with the latest 12.7 beta I can also choose 29hz as well 30hz, but to no avail 60hz @ > 768p.

In the Vision Center control panel, I see my TV edid reports "1080p - max refresh: 70hz"

I have in the past few days tested this on both xp32-sp3 and win7-64. Same issue exactly.

I thought perhaps my psu was culprit, so I knew my psu was old and couldn't remember its max output, I upgraded to 650w. Same issue.

I even thought to try another HDMI cable. Same issue.

I am desperate for resolution, I can't find any details on the net regarding this scenario.

Any further info requested is available. I just don't know where to begin.










http://imgur.com/a/QuK80
 08/04/2012 02:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fkez
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/04/2012

Update:

After trying 2 HDMI cables, same results

After removing the Catalyst driver from windows, the VESA driver allowed me to to 1680x1050@60 (ya, really)

Reinstalled CCC 12.7b, same issue, no 60hz on hdmi for resolution greater than 768p (1280x768)

Connected DVI-VGA cable to tv (no dvi port on tv, only hdmi and vga)
... 1080p @ 60.

Something very wonky with the HDMI port on this card.
 08/05/2012 11:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fkez
Lurker

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/04/2012

@AMD engineers,

Who should I be talking to regarding this problem above? MSI or here?

I would like to be helpful and productive in trying to provide any info towards a resolution.

TIA
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information