AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Packet Filtering
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/15/2004 05:46 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/15/2004 05:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
singularity2006
Member

Posts: 137
Joined: 01/29/2004

Is there a way to use packet filtering as a way to block out websites network wide? It's fine using the Windows HOSTS file to block sites, but I'd like something a bit more solid that resides within my router. My router has both inbound and outbound packet filtering.

-------------------------
Best Regards,
Chuck - Freelancer
============
Join my LifeSaverXP UD Cancer Research Team' ">http://www.grid.org/services/t...4673-8D95-938AA24CBEC4 and make a difference, not just another donation.
 04/16/2004 04:42 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

What router are you using?
My D-Link DI-614+ has a 'Parental Control' option that will allow me to block URLs.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 04/16/2004 01:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
singularity2006
Member

Posts: 137
Joined: 01/29/2004

I'm using an SMC7004AWBR.... Anyhow, it doesn't have any parental controls, just packet filtering as the most extensive control. It has a lot of great functions overall. The primary appeal of this router is that it has MAC address registration as well as static IP assignments for each MAC address. I have a small network and prefer using static IP to prevent people leeching via DHCP. Kind of hesitant to switch to a newer router because most of the newer ones are DHCP only. Anyhow, to what extent can I use packet filtering for anything, anyway?

-------------------------
Best Regards,
Chuck - Freelancer
============
Join my LifeSaverXP UD Cancer Research Team' ">http://www.grid.org/services/t...4673-8D95-938AA24CBEC4 and make a difference, not just another donation.
 04/16/2004 03:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
voodoo3300
Senior Member

Posts: 374
Joined: 11/16/2003

Packet filtering is mainly to filter out data that you dont want coming into or leaving your network. For example hackers can attach programs and tracking data to legitimate TCP packets.

Packet filtering works by scanning the packets compared to what was requested by your computer and then refuses to hop invalid packets to the next routing table. It can also be used to stop incoming transports that you dont want or need like netbeui, IPX etc.

Jake

-------------------------
Main:
AMD Athlon 2600+ 333Mhz Thoroughbred | 512Mb in 2x 256Mb DaneElec DDR PC2700 | XFX NF2S-ALH with nForce 2 400Pro | Asus GeForce FX5200 128Mb Magic! | Creative 5.1! Live! | Maxtor DM+9 80Gb and Maxtor DM+8 20Gb | LiteON 832S DVD+-R/RW Dual Layer 8x | LiteOn 48x12x48x CD-RW | Full Black server case with 500W PSU | Relisys 17" Monitor | Wireless Optical Mouse | Logitech Surfer | XP Professional SP1

Server: Intel (Oh no!) 2x Pent
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information