AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 5.8Ghz wireless router?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/07/2004 10:55 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/07/2004 10:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
misopeenut
Senior Member

Posts: 1012
Joined: 08/01/2004

we just got a new house phone and we got pretty decent deal but since its 2.4GHz, it interfere with the wireless router we have and im thinking its about getting a 5.8GHz router so that it wont interfere. is that how it works??
but are there any 5.8GHz router?


-------------------------
go go japan

AMD Athlon 64 2800+ Newcastle.......ATI All-In-Wonder 9600
MSI K8N NEO Platinum....................Ultra X-Connect 500w
Logitech Z-5500 THX certifed...........SAMSUNG 915v
CREATIVE Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
 11/07/2004 11:00 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

I though belkin has one. Or they will have one in the short time. Or maybe Im thinking about 802.11 i or n.
 11/07/2004 11:14 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ApostolicFire
Member

Posts: 95
Joined: 07/10/2004

for one that runs at 5.8GHz, that is 802.11a. I'm too lazy right now to see what frequency 802.11n runs at. Anyways... the distance of 802.11a is terrible... you wouldn't want it.

-------------------------
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 1GB PC3200 Crucial Ballistix, MSI K8N Neo2, Thermaltake Fanless 103 heatsink, Elsa Gladiac 940GT 6800GT video card, Tagan 480W, WD 120GB and WD 80GB HDDs, Silverstone SST-TJ06 case
 11/08/2004 11:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
olyteddy
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 05/08/2004

I have 2 2.4 Ghz phones and my 8011G works fine. Have you tried changing the channel on your router?

-------------------------
First PC = Vic-20, 8" 128KB Home-Brew Floppy Drive ... Current Rig = eMachines m6805 ... Quantum Leap?
 11/09/2004 03:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
misopeenut
Senior Member

Posts: 1012
Joined: 08/01/2004

ya ive tried changing the channel. but didnt notice anything.... but when i turned my house phone ive noticed a huge difference

-------------------------
go go japan

AMD Athlon 64 2800+ Newcastle.......ATI All-In-Wonder 9600
MSI K8N NEO Platinum....................Ultra X-Connect 500w
Logitech Z-5500 THX certifed...........SAMSUNG 915v
CREATIVE Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
 09/25/2005 03:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
osa
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/25/2005

i have the same problem as you but i overcame my issue by buying a 5.8ghz cordless phone instead of a 5.8ghz wirless router....

for a 150 bucks i got three panasonic 5.8ghz cordless handsets -- it's a great deal in my opinion and it works great and will not cause any interference with your wirless network

check out this deal at onsale.com
http://www.onsale.com/onsale/s...detail~dpno~525804.asp' ">http://www.onsale.com/onsale/s...detail~dpno~525804.asp
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information