AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wireless networking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/04/2004 03:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/04/2004 03:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

We've got 2 computers in different rooms, a broadband connection, and a linksys 4 port ethernet router. Can I plug a wireless router into the 3rd open ethernet port and run it that way or should I go with a 4 port ethernet router with wireless? I'd like to spend as little as possible and I really like my current router.
 09/04/2004 03:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xypher
Member

Posts: 119
Joined: 04/06/2004

go for the wireless router. That's how I'm connected right now, and it works great.
 09/04/2004 03:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Xypher @ Sep 4 2004, 11:29 AM) go for the wireless router. That's how I'm connected right now, and it works great.
the question is should I get one with a 4-port hub or just wireless? The two desktops will remain wired, my laptop is why I need wireless.
 09/04/2004 03:55 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Xypher
Member

Posts: 119
Joined: 04/06/2004

well, plugging another router into a router may just slow it down even more. I'd recommend going for just the wireless router.
 09/04/2004 04:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
peenuts220
Senior Member

Posts: 971
Joined: 06/24/2004

phoenix it wont get slowed down but i recomend getting one with built in 4 port router it makes everything much easier, Most have wired built in anyway, i have a wireless router hooked up through my gateway and let me tell you it was a [content edited] to get working, see you have to bypass firewalls and what not so just get it with built in, much easier

-------------------------
Athlon X2 3800+ @ 2400mhz
Asus A8N Sli Deluxe | Crucial Ballistix 1gig PC4000
eVGA 6600GT PCIe @ 561/1070 | Hitachi Deskstar 160 gig SATA II
Thermaltake Tsunami | Epower Puma II
Westinghouse 17" widescreen lcd
Macbook (black) 2.0ghz core duo, 1 gig ram, 80 gig hd, superdrive
 09/04/2004 06:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

QUOTE (Fallen Phoenix @ Sep 4 2004, 02:42 PM) the question is should I get one with a 4-port hub or just wireless? The two desktops will remain wired, my laptop is why I need wireless.
Go for the 4 port. Also look into the Cantenna's those are hot. I'm building one myself.. I am modding my old Star Band dish into a transceiver for my wireless network. It should amplifly the signal by 10 miles+.
 09/04/2004 07:43 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fallen Phoenix
Senior Member

Posts: 2948
Joined: 10/07/2003

looking at prices, the wireless routers with 4-port hub is about the same as the wireless without the hub. I guess I'll get one of those and finally get the Cat6 out of the hallway
 09/10/2004 07:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dylskee
Member

Posts: 124
Joined: 03/14/2004

Hey Fallen Phoenix, i actually ran my setup like that for about 6 months with absolutely no troubles at all. I then bought a linksys 4 port wireless router "WRT54G", great router and pretty cheap too. So if you just want to run the wat you are till you can save the money for a new router, you'll be all set man.

-------------------------
Asus P4P800-E Deluxe Bios V1006.001
Prescott 3.0E @3.91 1.512V Temp@Idle 36C/48C
Zalman CNPS700B-CU Cpu Cooler
CorsairCMX4400C25@2.5-3-3-6 1:1 260MHz(2X512)
Ati Radeon 9800XT 256
Seagate Barracuda 120G 7200RPM
X-SuperAlien Case/500WPSU/6 Case Fans
SoundBlasterAudigy LS
 09/11/2004 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
olyteddy
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 05/08/2004

I have a D-Link 524 running into a SMC Barricade router. I added the SMC because I picked it up at Value Village for $2.99 and it serves as a Print Server for my Laserjet 4 (Parallel Port). A Broadband Connection is only 4 megabit max, so it shouldn't slow things down at all. Plus it adds another Hardware Firewall to the chain. It also allows me to take the wireless router with me if I need to, without affecting the Desktop, Play Station or Printer.

-------------------------
First PC = Vic-20, 8" 128KB Home-Brew Floppy Drive ... Current Rig = eMachines m6805 ... Quantum Leap?
 09/11/2004 01:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
olyteddy
Member

Posts: 102
Joined: 05/08/2004

QUOTE (xamlit @ Sep 4 2004, 02:15 PM) Also look into the Cantenna's those are hot. I'm building one myself.. I am modding my old Star Band dish into a transceiver for my wireless network. It should amplifly the signal by 10 miles+.
Or you could add one of these Freeantennas' ">http://www.freeantennas.com/. I use the EZ-10 to goose the signal out of my back yard and into my bedroom.

-------------------------
First PC = Vic-20, 8" 128KB Home-Brew Floppy Drive ... Current Rig = eMachines m6805 ... Quantum Leap?
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information