AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 802.11g problems
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/18/2004 12:40 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2004 12:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

i set up my moms computer upstairs and i put a wireless card in it, when i start it it detects a signal just fine and everythign works but after a bout 5 minutes the signal drops dramataclly and then it says "connecttion unavaliable"
then i have to restart the computer and everything, and it works fine again
this is getting QUITE ANOYING and i would like to know what the [content edited] is going on

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 10/18/2004 01:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

pleassseee help!!!!

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 10/18/2004 04:16 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ruckus
Senior Member

Posts: 1236
Joined: 02/13/2004

If your MB had a onboard NIC card have you tried to disable it in BIOS??

-------------------------
AMD 64 3200+ (clawhammer) @ 2.2ghz OC'd | ASUS K8V Deluxe (754) BIOS ver:1008 | TT Venus 12 HS<br>WD SATA 120 8mb Cache 7200rpm | ATI 9800XT 256 CAT 6.6 CCC | ATI Silencer 3 VGA Cooler<br>1 GB DDR400 Micron 2x512 | 2.5-2-2-11 2.8v | Creative Audigy 2 ZS | Plextor 708A 8x DVD-rw rw+ drive<br>DVD rom Drive | 9in1 Card Reader | NEC FE2111SB 22" CRT <br>Antec True-Blue 480w | X-Dreamer Case w/6 Fans | Win XP Prof SP2
 10/18/2004 07:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

no, why would that help? im not using the nic on the mobo

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 10/19/2004 11:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
IntelOwnsALL
Senior Member

Posts: 2709
Joined: 09/16/2004

i called d-LINK and they said the router was defective so i exchanged it
now i have a much better signal but firefox or IE will not connect to the internet

-------------------------
[Signature over size limits. Please see forum guidelines.]
 12/02/2004 08:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

i have the same problems, but i have linksys stuff

-------------------------


my healthzone
 12/02/2004 08:56 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

i just disable my to control plan, network and connections, network connections and then i disable my lan area connection

-------------------------


my healthzone
 12/03/2004 04:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
xamlit
Senior Member

Posts: 1206
Joined: 11/02/2003

I have frequent problems with dropped connections. What I discovered is that the new mobile phones have 2.4ghz radio frequency which is the frequency that the routers broadcast on. Try changing the channel on your Router and if that doesn't work try resetting your router.
 12/03/2004 11:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cow8mynuts
Senior Member

Posts: 1079
Joined: 11/30/2003

QUOTE (xamlit @ Dec 3 2004, 01:26 AM) I have frequent problems with dropped connections. What I discovered is that the new mobile phones have 2.4ghz radio frequency which is the frequency that the routers broadcast on. Try changing the channel on your Router and if that doesn't work try resetting your router.
yeah but i have 900mhz phones, so there not on the same freq

-------------------------


my healthzone
 12/09/2004 03:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
averatec5400
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 08/30/2004

would anyone happen to have sp2?

I have seen terrible wireless and even sometime wired nic drops in SP2.

I have to every other day(or so, when the WLAN says it is disconnected) right click on the icon, go to show network connections, right click the connection, disable, then reenable.

Give it a shot, see if that fixes it, if so, uninstall sp2.

I have seen laptops and desktops last less than 3 minutes before it happens, and days(like mine)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information