AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Power line networking
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/03/2004 05:15 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/03/2004 05:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
singularity2006
Member

Posts: 137
Joined: 01/29/2004

I'm using a powerline networking setup in my home because my room is waaaaaay too far from my router, which is next to my home office. However, I get really poor signal reception with the electrical systems in the house running around. I noticed that my washing machine has this giant "green energy" plug that acts as an intermediary between the electrical outlet and the washer itself. Is there something similar that I may be able to use to get a cleaner electrical signal for my powerline network to work?

-------------------------
Best Regards,
Chuck - Freelancer
============
Join my LifeSaverXP UD Cancer Research Team' ">http://www.grid.org/services/t...4673-8D95-938AA24CBEC4 and make a difference, not just another donation.
 02/03/2004 05:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
SpeedTek
Senior Member

Posts: 2538
Joined: 10/05/2003

why don't you just go wireless?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of AMD or any of their affiliates.<br><span *****

Moderator
 02/03/2004 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
singularity2006
Member

Posts: 137
Joined: 01/29/2004

oops, forgot to mention that my room is way too far for wireless. And repeaters I've tried fail to work with encryption.... real weird.

-------------------------
Best Regards,
Chuck - Freelancer
============
Join my LifeSaverXP UD Cancer Research Team' ">http://www.grid.org/services/t...4673-8D95-938AA24CBEC4 and make a difference, not just another donation.
 12/17/2008 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
winderic
Newbie

Posts: 38
Joined: 10/06/2008

How was the powerline adapter doing?
Cause i wanna get one for my home also, cause i have one wireless G router which i am thinking of changing to wireless N or the powerline adapter.
Will the adapter get too hot after long use? is it stable?
i heard that the adapter will interfe with some wireless device.

-------------------------
AMD 9850, M3a79-T Deluxe, ATI 4870/512MB, CM 690 + CM Real Power 650W, 4G Ram, Thermaltake TMG A1
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information