AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Please help me with my Wi-Fi network...
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/05/2004 02:10 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/05/2004 02:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Alright, I just bought the Linksys WRT54G router and the WMP54G PCI card. I'm running firmware version 2.02.2 on the router and driver version 3.30.15 on the PCI card, both machines have XP Pro, the version listed in my sig.

I've got the PCI card in my 4 year old sons Compaq (I know it was free though! and the router is hooked into my old AMD rig (1.2GHz T-Bird, 512 PC100, 40GB HD, you get the idea).

Now I've got everything setup and the remote computer picks up the network great, full strength @54mbps. So that is good, I can access the router from the remote computer using it's IP address just fine. Now the problem, from what I can see my main computer the router is plugged into does not see the remote computer, in other words my computer is only telling me there is a wired connection @100mbps (IE the hardwired connection to the router) and when I type the remote computers IP address it won't connect and times out. I have the EXACT same deal going on with my laptop as I do the remote computer also. All of them are set the the same default gateway of course, the routers IP, and both of the remote computer are on the same default subnet mask. The main computer has IP 192.168.1.100, my sons 192.168.1.102, and my laptop is 192.168.103.

How the heck do I get these things to network both ways? I'm not sharing and internet connection, just trying to network, I'll be hooking up the DSL later. I'm primarily trying to play Unreal Tournament with my son. I'd also like to share files like the entire C drive on all the computers with all the computers.

Sorry for the book but I wanted to be as detailed as possible. I have questions about setting the WPA key to secure the network but I'll ask later after I solve my first problem

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 02/05/2004 02:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Moved to Networking corner.

Do you have a Firewall running on any of your comps?

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 02/05/2004 02:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Feb 4 2004, 11:13 PM) Moved to Networking corner.

Do you have a Firewall running on any of your comps?
Yes I do. I've got the XP firewall that you enable by clicking on the network connection, clicking properties, and going to the advanced tab. I also have the firewall option in the routers firmware enabled, I even have the "Block Anonymous internet Requests" option in the routers firmware checked...

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 02/05/2004 02:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

Try to disable the XP-firewall...you should be able to configure it to allow connections through your home-network but right now, i can't tell you how to do that as i use a 3rd party firewall software(never bothered with the window$-firewall).

As long as you're not connected to the internet it doesn't matter anyways...also, depending on the Router itself and its configuration, the router's built-in firewall can offer some decent protection aswell.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 02/05/2004 02:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Feb 4 2004, 11:35 PM) Try to disable the XP-firewall...you should be able to configure it to allow connections through your home-network but right now, i can't tell you how to do that as i use a 3rd party firewall software(never bothered with the window$-firewall).

As long as you're not connected to the internet it doesn't matter anyways...also, depending on the Router itself and its configuration, the router's built-in firewall can offer some decent protection aswell.
Awesome, I did that one all the computers and atleast now I can ping the remote computers IP's using the main one now and get a response, lol!

So does that mean I'm good to go now?

Also how do I secure my network so people can't just park in front of my house and get on?

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
 02/05/2004 03:24 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE Also how do I secure my network so people can't just park in front of my house and get on?
Your WLAN-Router should support a 128-bit or greater WEP-Encryption - enable it and enter the WEP-Key in the config-options of your WLAN-adaper on each comp.
Also, you might want to disable SSID-broadcast.

I can't really give you more detailed info, since i do not have/use a WLAN-router(atleast, not yet )
I'm pretty sure, you'll find some decent guides if you search for 'WLAN Security' on google, tho...

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 02/05/2004 03:44 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
92GTA
Senior Member

Posts: 497
Joined: 12/09/2003

Thank you very much for all of the help, it's working EXACTLY how I want it to!!!

Thanks!

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X4 955BE AM3 (Multi x18.5@3712.5MHz) - 965BE On order!
Thermalright IFX-14 Lapped with AS5 (Not installed)
3 Scythe SY1425SL12H / Silverstone FP33-B (Not installed)
ASUS M4A78T-E AM3 790GX HDMI ATX
8GB Mushkin 996625 DDR3 1600 (7-7-6-18-24 - DRAM 1.86v)
Corsair CMPSU-750HX ATX12V 2.3 Modular
3 74GB WD Raptors in RAID 0 / 1TB WD Black
Pioneer SATA Blu-Ray / Plextor SATA DVD-RW
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information