AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: how to share my zyxel 630 adsl
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/02/2003 10:54 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/02/2003 10:54 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

Hi ...

I need you advice, regarding to sharing my ADSL connection ...

currently I have :

1. ZYXEL 630 Series 11
2. ADSL 512KB bandwidth

and I am going to share with 2 pc's, any idea how to do that ?

Thanks

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 11/03/2003 01:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Greyhound
Senior Member

Posts: 5449
Joined: 10/07/2003

since the Zyxel 630 series is a USB ADSL-modem, the easiest way for you to use your connection with 2 PCs would be connecting the two machines via Cat.5 Crossover cable and using window$ ICS(internet connection sharing) - read this' ">http://support.microsoft.com/d...s;310563&Product=winxp M$-knowledgebase article.
If you have a hub or switch, you can use it instead of the crossover solution, of course.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

<center><font color=red>MODERATOR</center></font>

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 89W :: Asus M2N32SLI Deluxe :: 2x1024MB Muskin XP2-6400 DDR2-800 :: BeQuiet! Darkpower Pro 530W :: 2x WD Raptor 74GB/10k rpm, RAID 0 :: ATI Radeon X1950XTX
 11/03/2003 01:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (Greyhound @ Nov 3 2003, 02:19 PM) since the Zyxel 630 series is a USB ADSL-modem, the easiest way for you to use your connection with 2 PCs would be connecting the two machines via Cat.5 Crossover cable and using window$ ICS(internet connection sharing) - read this' ">http://support.microsoft.com/d...s;310563&Product=winxp M$-knowledgebase article.
If you have a hub or switch, you can use it instead of the crossover solution, of course.
yup I have been done it before ...but its make me confused ... because ... once I share the connection ... the link could not be used anymore ... connected but ...

I always got request time out ... and page cannot be displayed for IE ...

trying to use wingate ... its a good option ??? instead of ICS ...

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 11/06/2003 03:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Elvis
Member

Posts: 148
Joined: 10/10/2003

You can connect your modem to a router and then your computers to the router. Linksys products are extremely easy to set up. I just got the Wireless-G Broadband Router which I use to connect three desktop systems and one wireless. See: http://www.linksys.com/product...t.as...cid=35&prid=577' ">http://www.linksys.com/product...id=33&scid=35&prid=577

-------------------------
Thank you...thank you very much. Now where's my fried peanut butter and banana sandwich?
 11/06/2003 03:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

I have one unit cisco 2503 series ... can I use that device to share my adsl connection for 2-3 pc's... ?

thanks

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 11/07/2003 06:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superman
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 11/05/2003

might need to know which operating systems your using on both pc's and which isp
 11/09/2003 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
brian_brian
Senior Member

Posts: 956
Joined: 10/07/2003

QUOTE (superman @ Nov 8 2003, 07:02 AM) might need to know which operating systems your using on both pc's and which isp
Xp home and XP pro ... both rigs running with sp1 ...

Is it if I just choose a broadband router ie : SMC barricade

-------------------------
ABIT IC7MAX3, AN7, & NF7-S REV2.0
Intel P4 3.2EE, AMD Barton 2.6 & 2.5 with WD Raptor 74Gb E 3 Pc's
Thermaltake skull vm3000a, Antec Sonata & Plus View 1000AMG
2 Pc's Creative 2ZS Platinum Pro with Inspire 7700 & Klipsch Promedia 5.1 Pro
Sony SDM-HS93, SDM HS53 & Multiscan20se
Cisco 2503 with ISDN 128 Kbps & Cisco 837 with Zyxel Prestige 630 ADSL 512Kbps
 11/10/2003 04:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
superman
Member

Posts: 35
Joined: 11/05/2003

as long as you have shared the connection xp home or pro will find the connection. you might need to force the ip config of the second machine but normally do not need to do this. if you are in the uk and using aol then you will need a third party software to get it going
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information