AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Setting Up A Long Range 802.11g Network
Topic Summary:
Created On: 11/09/2005 09:07 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/09/2005 09:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Old Camper
Senior Member

Posts: 1741
Joined: 06/13/2004

Hey guys,

I've been pondering this idea with friends; to set up a wireless network around our town.

I have chosen the following products:

DGL-4300' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/Default.aspx?ArticleID=1576
ANT24-1500' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/default.aspx?FolderID=119
DWL-G520' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/Default.aspx?ArticleID=290

The adapter card will be for each individual system connecting to the network.

The questions I need answered are the following:

#1) These people will already have internet connections, so is it possible for them to install the PCI adapter card, connect to the wireless network and have 2 LAN connections?

#2) If so, will I be able to strictly disable internet access via the wireless network? Also, will these people be able to access the network simply by opening their browser, choosing the right LAN connection from Network Connections, and then typing in the network address for my Apache HTTP server?

#3) Is this a suitable antenna? How high will it need to be to provide a 1800 meter coverage? (See http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/5347/signal6ja.jpg' ">http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/5347/signal6ja.jpg )

#4) I'm thinking of mounting it on a steel pole concreted into the ground, then stabilized using cables like on other towers, is this okay too?

#5) Also, any general comments on network security are welcome. I'll have coverage of a pretty large area, so it's obviously going to be vulnerable to interference (hence wanting to mount it high).


Respectfully,

Old Camper
Proud sporting shooter and member of the SSAA.


-------------------------
One day, humanity will advance forward and leave behind our humble little world to reach innumerable heights of technology, evolution and civilization, to bring our imaginations into the unsuspecting universe and ourselves... play God.
| Email/MSN: old_camper@hotmail.com | Visit the SSAA | IRC @ #forums.amd.irc on irc.d
 11/09/2005 09:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
someone124
Senior Member

Posts: 2213
Joined: 10/09/2004

QUOTE#3) Is this a suitable antenna? How high will it need to be to provide a 1800 meter coverage? (See

that 1800M coverage rating is talking about in an open field with no obstructions. There are buildings in the way, so it won't be that far

also, this thread might be useful-
http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=52167' ">http://forums.amd.com/index.php?showtopic=52167

-------------------------
Got F@H?|This is why we use AMD | Proud Owner of a DFI board| HUG ME!|
<img src="http://di
 11/10/2005 12:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

Are u opening your own café or something?

That kind of connection is one that could easily be interfered with especially by hackers. Get Sygate or ZoneAlarm for protection. A wired network would probably be more secure, but I don't even know if an RJ-45 cable can go that far... /unsure.gif' border='0' style='vertical-align:middle' alt='unsure.gif' />
 11/10/2005 01:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dan
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/18/2005

QUOTE(Old Camper @ Nov 9 2005, 06:07 PM)Hey guys,

I've been pondering this idea with friends; to set up a wireless network around our town.

I have chosen the following products:

DGL-4300' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/Default.aspx?ArticleID=1576
ANT24-1500' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/default.aspx?FolderID=119
DWL-G520' ">http://www.dlink.com.au/Default.aspx?ArticleID=290

The adapter card will be for each individual system connecting to the network.

The questions I need answered are the following:

#1) These people will already have internet connections, so is it possible for them to install the PCI adapter card, connect to the wireless network and have 2 LAN connections?

#2) If so, will I be able to strictly disable internet access via the wireless network? Also, will these people be able to access the network simply by opening their browser, choosing the right LAN connection from Network Connections, and then typing in the network address for my Apache HTTP server?

#3) Is this a suitable antenna? How high will it need to be to provide a 1800 meter coverage? (See http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/5347/signal6ja.jpg' ">http://img499.imageshack.us/img499/5347/signal6ja.jpg )

#4) I'm thinking of mounting it on a steel pole concreted into the ground, then stabilized using cables like on other towers, is this okay too?

#5) Also, any general comments on network security are welcome. I'll have coverage of a pretty large area, so it's obviously going to be vulnerable to interference (hence wanting to mount it high).
Respectfully,

Old Camper
Proud sporting shooter and member of the SSAA.

[right][snapback]542196[/snapback][/right]


for #1) - it will work without problems
for #2) - if you setup Local Network for your friends, they can
for #4) - yes, but i think much more better find yours friend who lives higher floor, and Wifi is not so stable lan for long distance - you have to install antenna pointing to other antenna

for #5) - i recomend to setup MAC-adress exeptions - its really effective, and if you wants WEP don't use much 64 bit - on the WEP 128 bit i have problems to copy big (4GB) files - WIFI Lan hang

and last questions - Need you in you country to licensing this operation?

-------------------------
My config:
AMD 64 (soc. 939) 3500
ASUS A8V PRO
1024 DDR 400 (2x512Mb) HT
120Gb HDD SATA 150
ATI X800 PRO
 11/10/2005 01:40 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dan
Junior Member

Posts: 14
Joined: 02/18/2005

i think you need better WiFi Point for much stable Lan

and for the long distance better to use Wifi repiter

-------------------------
My config:
AMD 64 (soc. 939) 3500
ASUS A8V PRO
1024 DDR 400 (2x512Mb) HT
120Gb HDD SATA 150
ATI X800 PRO
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information