AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: wireless router won't work
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/20/2005 08:59 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/20/2005 08:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trahald10
Member

Posts: 162
Joined: 07/07/2004

I have narrowed down why my wireless router won't work. I found out that it definately isn't the nic card or my cable modem. I'm positive that it has to do with the Routing and Remote Access service in services.msc.

The only problem is, is that when I changed it to automatic, I can't start the service. I get an error message that says:

Windows could not start the Routing and Remote Access on Local Computer. For more information, review the system event log. If this is a non-microsoft service, contact the service vendor, and refer to service-specified error code 2.

What's wrong with the service?

-------------------------
-AMD 64 3500 - Stock HSF
-Abit AV8 - Samsung 120 GB ATA133
-1 Gb Mushkin XP3200 - Geforce 6800 128 mb
-Tagan 480W PSU - Aspire X-Dreamer II Case w/ 5 LED fans
 08/20/2005 09:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jimi
Senior Member

Posts: 778
Joined: 10/29/2004

QUOTE(trahald10 @ Aug 20 2005, 04:59 PM)I have narrowed down why my wireless router won't work. I found out that it definately isn't the nic card or my cable modem. I'm positive that it has to do with the Routing and Remote Access service in services.msc.

The only problem is, is that when I changed it to automatic, I can't start the service. I get an error message that says:

Windows could not start the Routing and Remote Access on Local Computer. For more information, review the system event log. If this is a non-microsoft service, contact the service vendor, and refer to service-specified error code 2.

What's wrong with the service?
[right][snapback]485361[/snapback][/right]


Have you tried hard wiring your PC to your router? By that I mean getting a cable pluging it straight from the PC to the router if possible.

It could be the WAP (Wireless Access Point) that's the problem.

-------------------------
DFI CFX3200 DR | AMD Opt 170 2.75GHz | 2GB G.Skill HZ | ATI X1900CF Edition



<img src="http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/8848/xfire
 08/20/2005 09:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TLH
Moderator

Posts: 3641
Joined: 11/19/2004

I have that disabled and my router works fine.
Has this router ever worked?Does it drop out unexpectedly when operating etc?A little more info please.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.

1100t on M5A99x-EVO with 2x4gb and 6870 running Win7 on Force120 ssd in Corsair 600t cooled by H100. Folding for team 34106
 08/21/2005 08:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
trahald10
Member

Posts: 162
Joined: 07/07/2004

It did work for one day then it stopped working.

Yesterday I was able to enable that service and it briefly worked but when I restarted the computer, it disabled again and it stopped working.

-------------------------
-AMD 64 3500 - Stock HSF
-Abit AV8 - Samsung 120 GB ATA133
-1 Gb Mushkin XP3200 - Geforce 6800 128 mb
-Tagan 480W PSU - Aspire X-Dreamer II Case w/ 5 LED fans
 08/22/2005 03:32 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

hmm still confused here.

so you can get on the internet just fine, you can share files etc. But you cant get remote access started? See the above posts make mention that your Router seems to be nto working at all. however if I understand you correctly the router is functioning, its just the Remote access. If my hypothesis is correct, its not the router that is the problem, but RAS.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information