AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Wireless Router
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/02/2006 09:04 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/02/2006 09:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Believe
Senior Member

Posts: 327
Joined: 02/27/2005

So, I had a crappy D-Link 524 forever it seems, but to get away from all of that I wanted some opinions on a good stable router. I shop newegg so links would be wonderful? Or just model numbers of the router. I just don't want to get a crappy router that freezes constantly. The reviews on newegg are misleading.

-------------------------
1st= AMD 64 3000+ BFG Geforce 7600GT Kingston Hyper X - 2-3-2-6
2nd=AMD 32 2800+ Geforce MX440 1x256 Samsung
3rd= Intel P4 1.5ghz (server)
4th= Dell Inspiron Widescreen 1.6ghz 2x512 60gig
5th= Acer K6-2 32RAM,4gig

And a thunderbird, two 486's

The Function of doublethink even requires doublethink.
 10/02/2006 11:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
shards_of_glass
Senior Member

Posts: 2123
Joined: 12/31/2003

I've used a Dlink MIMO router, a Netgear MIMO with the 8 antennas and a 2 Wire Modem/router I've had problems with everysingle one so I got a Linksys WRT54G It is just a basic 802.11G router, no MIMO, Draft N or speeds above 54MBps but it works flawlessly

-------------------------
#1 Athlon 64 4000+ / DFI LP UT RDX200 CF-DR / Seagate 7200.10 16MB 320GB SATA-150 / Corsair VS DDR400 1024MB SC
 10/02/2006 11:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Believe
Senior Member

Posts: 327
Joined: 02/27/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: shards_of_glass
I've used a Dlink MIMO router, a Netgear MIMO with the 8 antennas and a 2 Wire Modem/router I've had problems with everysingle one so I got a Linksys WRT54G It is just a basic 802.11G router, no MIMO, Draft N or speeds above 54MBps but it works flawlessly




I was looking at the same exact router the "Link Sys WRT54G". Look like what I wanted, but I just like peoples opinions. Thanks for the help

-------------------------
1st= AMD 64 3000+ BFG Geforce 7600GT Kingston Hyper X - 2-3-2-6
2nd=AMD 32 2800+ Geforce MX440 1x256 Samsung
3rd= Intel P4 1.5ghz (server)
4th= Dell Inspiron Widescreen 1.6ghz 2x512 60gig
5th= Acer K6-2 32RAM,4gig

And a thunderbird, two 486's

The Function of doublethink even requires doublethink.
 10/03/2006 01:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
palmboy5
Overclocker

Posts: 857
Joined: 10/06/2003

I love my D-Link DI-634M, its a 108G MIMO. I wouldnt say its 100% reliable, it has dropped the connection a few times with my laptop's intel 2915ABG, though not during my use. I leave the laptop running 24/7, and I just notice that my AIM sn on the laptop has an online time shorter than before and that can only mean one thing, it lost its connection for a moment. This happens about once a week and AIM on other wired PCs show no such symptoms.

But w/e, it doesnt matter to me, I used to use an Airlink AR315W and it was simply a nightmare, I think it overheats itself just idling, only fixable by unplugging it and plugging it back in. That thing makes ANYTHING look better. I've only had experience with two wireless routers, as youve read, so my credibility isnt very high, but I still recommend that you get the 634M ^^

-------------------------

Do lower and I give you a cookie. jk
 10/03/2006 01:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Linksys

And how can you people say DLink makes anything good, everyone I know, including myself have had nothing but crap expoeriences with them.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/03/2006 03:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MRC3
Senior Member

Posts: 293
Joined: 07/05/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Believe
So, I had a crappy D-Link 524 forever it seems, but to get away from all of that I wanted some opinions on a good stable router. I shop newegg so links would be wonderful? Or just model numbers of the router. I just don't want to get a crappy router that freezes constantly. The reviews on newegg are misleading.




what kind of connection do you have?
i use a ADSL line capped at 1.5 MB/SEC.
i used a linksys wrt54g,with my previous ADSL modem,
but i got a new ( "2WIRE" ) , ( THAT'S THE BRAND ) ,
ADSL modem from my phone company, QWEST.
i bought it,
and it is wireless and secure.
i connect both ethernet and wireless to it at the same time.
running both at the same time there are no conflicts.
and i can connect the laptop directly if i don't want to use wireless for any reason.
and run both the desktop and laptop at the same time.

it has four ports on the back for direct connected devices/PC's.
( i don't have a clue why they called it ( 2WIRE ))
it was $100.00 BUCKS,
I think it's worth it too.

it was very easy to configure and never gives me an invalid I.P address like the cable modem used to do.

 10/03/2006 03:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Hungryjoey
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2507
Joined: 05/01/2004

I've had a Dlink 524, I brought it straight back to the store as the wireless signal was absoloutly terrible, Couldn't be used outside the same room. I picked up a Linksys WRT54G and till' this day, I havnt had one issue with it. Brilliant box. I have it hooked up to my Cable modem and works very well, And very good Wireless signal. THis router also seems to be a very popular router. I'd suggest you go for it, Very good settings too to play with and also can be very easy to setup.

Hj

-------------------------
Break Free -AMD
Intel Q6600 3GHz | 4GB | GTX260 | Vista Ultimate
 10/03/2006 03:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Obi
Member

Posts: 184
Joined: 08/30/2006

Check out this Buffalo setup its what im ganna use when I build a second conroe rig for the other room

http://www.newegg.com/product/...asp?...N82E16833162134

http://www.newegg.com/product/...asp?...N82E16833162115

-------------------------
My PC: E6600 Conroe | Asus P5B Deluxe WiFi |<!--colorc--
 10/03/2006 05:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Jaymz9350
Senior Member

Posts: 591
Joined: 03/06/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Believe
I was looking at the same exact router the "Link Sys WRT54G". Look like what I wanted, but I just like peoples opinions. Thanks for the help


i have the WRT54G and i have yet to have any problems with it
 10/03/2006 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: Hungryjoey
I've had a Dlink 524, I brought it straight back to the store as the wireless signal was absoloutly terrible, Couldn't be used outside the same room. I picked up a Linksys WRT54G and till' this day, I havnt had one issue with it. Brilliant box. I have it hooked up to my Cable modem and works very well, And very good Wireless signal. THis router also seems to be a very popular router. I'd suggest you go for it, Very good settings too to play with and also can be very easy to setup.

Hj



Sounds like my story

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 10/03/2006 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
palmboy5
Overclocker

Posts: 857
Joined: 10/06/2003

quote:

Originally posted by: Immortal Lobster
Linksys

And how can you people say DLink makes anything good, everyone I know, including myself have had nothing but crap expoeriences with them.



can you list some of the problems? I have a D-Link DGL-4100 and DI-634M and my download on very rare occasions, randomly stops downloading during the download process. Maybe this has to do with the 4100? (the 634M is just acting as an AP two hops away from the central 4100 so it shouldnt be able to affect anything)

-------------------------

Do lower and I give you a cookie. jk
 10/03/2006 07:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

I had a D-Link for my first router and it was rock-solid. Until I randomly decided to update the firmware and the thing conked out on me.

I would get a Linksys WRT54GL since it has better Linux-based firmware, unlike the WRT54GS and the WRT54G.
 10/03/2006 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elite_athlon
Senior Member

Posts: 7392
Joined: 06/07/2005

My DI-524 was total crap also, i'd say personally stay way from D-link.

-------------------------
Join a real forum - http://www.compsupportforums.com/
 10/04/2006 10:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Believe
Senior Member

Posts: 327
Joined: 02/27/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: MRC3
what kind of connection do you have?
i use a ADSL line capped at 1.5 MB/SEC.
i used a linksys wrt54g,with my previous ADSL modem,
but i got a new ( "2WIRE" ) , ( THAT'S THE BRAND ) ,
ADSL modem from my phone company, QWEST.
i bought it,
and it is wireless and secure.
i connect both ethernet and wireless to it at the same time.
running both at the same time there are no conflicts.
and i can connect the laptop directly if i don't want to use wireless for any reason.
and run both the desktop and laptop at the same time.

it has four ports on the back for direct connected devices/PC's.
( i don't have a clue why they called it ( 2WIRE ))
it was $100.00 BUCKS,
I think it's worth it too.

it was very easy to configure and never gives me an invalid I.P address like the cable modem used to do.


Currently my connection is Cox Cable which is actually sudden link, but every bill says "COX" so whatever but it's 5MiB 768Up I believe.

quote:

Originally posted by: Elite_Athlon
My DI-524 was total crap also, i'd say personally stay way from D-link.




Well, the one reason I bought it as in the past I had a decent experience with D-LINK just ethernet cards, though. Then I bought this router, and now I dislike D-LINK the router locks up more than windows.

-------------------------
1st= AMD 64 3000+ BFG Geforce 7600GT Kingston Hyper X - 2-3-2-6
2nd=AMD 32 2800+ Geforce MX440 1x256 Samsung
3rd= Intel P4 1.5ghz (server)
4th= Dell Inspiron Widescreen 1.6ghz 2x512 60gig
5th= Acer K6-2 32RAM,4gig

And a thunderbird, two 486's

The Function of doublethink even requires doublethink.
 10/04/2006 10:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

I have had good luck with Netgear products, yet my personal router is a Motorola WR 850 G. Great wireless router that supports WPA2 and etc.
 10/04/2006 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Believe
Senior Member

Posts: 327
Joined: 02/27/2005

Oh, ya, I had a netgear also did a very good job.

-------------------------
1st= AMD 64 3000+ BFG Geforce 7600GT Kingston Hyper X - 2-3-2-6
2nd=AMD 32 2800+ Geforce MX440 1x256 Samsung
3rd= Intel P4 1.5ghz (server)
4th= Dell Inspiron Widescreen 1.6ghz 2x512 60gig
5th= Acer K6-2 32RAM,4gig

And a thunderbird, two 486's

The Function of doublethink even requires doublethink.
 10/07/2006 03:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
estricklin
Senior Member

Posts: 307
Joined: 10/01/2006

Hey bro how bout a Buffalo?

-------------------------
From Model Ts ta Pentium 3s.
 10/08/2006 06:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Believe
Senior Member

Posts: 327
Joined: 02/27/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: EricStricklin
Hey bro how bout a Buffalo?



A buffalo would work just good as a linksys I believe, though, I've never owned one i've only seen steady reviews for it.

-------------------------
1st= AMD 64 3000+ BFG Geforce 7600GT Kingston Hyper X - 2-3-2-6
2nd=AMD 32 2800+ Geforce MX440 1x256 Samsung
3rd= Intel P4 1.5ghz (server)
4th= Dell Inspiron Widescreen 1.6ghz 2x512 60gig
5th= Acer K6-2 32RAM,4gig

And a thunderbird, two 486's

The Function of doublethink even requires doublethink.
 10/10/2006 07:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
vsingh
Voodoo Programmer

Posts: 3919
Joined: 10/15/2005

Buffalo is good, but your best bets in terms of networking devices are:

1) Netgear (the best)
2) Linksys (pretty good)
3) D-Link (good for the money)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information