AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: restarting before being able to network
Topic Summary:
Created On: 10/18/2006 09:43 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 10/18/2006 09:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
keepfishes
Junior Member

Posts: 11
Joined: 10/17/2006

I have always encountered this problem,not being able to 'see' the other computer if I just connect the LAN cable without restarting.But until I restart the both computers, they would be able to 'see' each other.I hate to restart as it takes a long time and I have a slow system.Please advice on how not to restart it.
 10/19/2006 06:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
dot_pixel651
Senior Member

Posts: 4241
Joined: 05/12/2005

make sure you have the NetBIOS protocol installed on both computers. make sure your router is running ok too.

dot.

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165
ASUS A8N-SLi Deluxe
PNY 2x512MB DDR500
eVGA 7800GT
WD 2x160 / WD 250
ASUS 16x DVD-ROM / NEC 16x DVD-RW
Samsung 1.44
Ultra X-Finity 600
 12/07/2006 02:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Butte
Senior Member

Posts: 226
Joined: 10/21/2006

quote:

Originally posted by: confusered
not being able to 'see' the other computer if I just connect the LAN cable without restarting. [. . .] it takes a long time and I have a slow system.


XP (H and P, alike) ordinarily takes in stride whether LAN cables are unplugged or replugged and whether machines are down or up, for short or long terms, reestablishing connections when its scanning detects broken or restored connections. You leave us to guess that you're not using XP + SP 2, and that maybe you're using 98SE or even 3.11 (or even something other than Windows), so please tell us your os.

TCP (at least with XP) should suffice. NetBIOS opens vulnerabilities (use firewall and router settings for protection).
 08/26/2011 07:21 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paulanderson
Newbie

Posts: 50
Joined: 08/17/2011

I think to restart your computer is the best method and necessary for solving your problems in computer.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information