AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: sharing file at a home network using third party software
Topic Summary:
Created On: 04/27/2006 11:20 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 04/27/2006 11:20 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahho
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/16/2005

Well after many tries to fix my home network with no luck (worked the first time with wincare) Is there a third party software that would aloud me to share file at my home network between the 2 computer with ethernet speed and not internet??
 04/28/2006 12:45 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

That is going to a hard thing to do I bet. Have you tried reinstalling windows at all, or removing the router from the internet and removing all firewalls?
 04/28/2006 01:12 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahho
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/16/2005

yup
i tried everythin except reinstalling windows because i need a network to get the file to one computer to back it up
 04/28/2006 10:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

are the computers running windows XP?

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
 04/28/2006 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah... windows has built in file and printer sharing. If they're all running windows, you might want to give that another shot. Windows being windows, it doesn't really tell you what's wrong when something's wrong, so it can be kind of annoying if it's not working because of a little check box being unchecked or something. It's still a lot less complicated than using something like samba though.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 04/28/2006 04:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ahho
Senior Member

Posts: 220
Joined: 10/16/2005

yup they are all using the same version of windows

how do you use samba?? It looks really complicated.

So i guess there is no third party software that let me share file between the 2 comp with the speed of the ethernet.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information