AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Broadband Connection Problem
Topic Summary:
Created On: 01/15/2006 09:53 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 01/15/2006 09:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Yue_Hong
Overclocker

Posts: 562
Joined: 11/24/2004

I am using D-Link DSL-500G ADSL modem and I am having trouble with the internet connection. Everytime after I have connected to the internet for about 4 to 5 minutes or sometimes 1 hour, the whole connection down. When I check the connection by seeing the light at the modem, it is still connected but the whole traffic is down. All my web browsing, download, and streaming audio is stopped running. I am experiencing this kind of problem for about 1 week. Is the problem caused by my modem or by the ISP? How can I solve it?

-------------------------
"If you look at the last five years, if you look at what major innovations have occurred in computing technology, every single one of them came from AMD. Not a single innovation came from Intel." -- AMD CEO Hector Ruiz in 2007
 01/15/2006 09:58 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Bruneauinfo
Alpha Geek

Posts: 2823
Joined: 08/27/2004

Call your ISP - make sure they support your modem - make sure your CAT5 cable isn't bad

-------------------------
asus P6T Del V2 w/i7 920 6g ddr3 1600
Sapphire HD5770
Win7 Ultimate 64-bit
Smilodon case is STILL the best ever, ever, ever!!!
 01/15/2006 10:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
3246251196
Linux Ninja

Posts: 4502
Joined: 11/24/2003

probo the ISP. for instance, i have AOL and if you have AOL AND are using Winxpsp2 - then you NEED a patch to have the exact same thing stop happening.
 01/15/2006 10:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zeppelinrox
Senior Member

Posts: 8484
Joined: 11/30/2005

also to be sure your TCP settings are good, go here http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php' ">http://www.speedguide.net/downloads.php and download TCP Optimizer.
When you run it, just click on Optimal settings then Apply changes, and reboot.
This will ensure that your settings are not a problem and at least make your connection faster when everything else is working properly

-------------------------


Overclocking Help and Links . Why DRM, BluRay and HD-DVD Blow Great tools-> OC Bible v1.52 and Guidemania v1.2
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information