AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Help With Internet Connection
Topic Summary:
Created On: 03/04/2007 02:31 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 03/04/2007 02:31 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kniwor
Senior Member

Posts: 1731
Joined: 01/23/2005

ok, here is the deal, I will try to explain as best as possible.

Firstly the information, I live in a College hostel, and me any many of my friends have computers in the room. We all are using the Operating system Windows XP Pro SP2.
We needed to connect all out computers to each other, so we bought the cheapest possible HUB, a $12, 100mbps hub, and connected the computers together, everything is fine so far and the LAN is working fine, we had no internet connection in any of our computers. Recently I received permission from college to connect my computer to the LAN of the college, thereby giving me Internet access to, but I have only one Network card in the computer, So I plugged in the college LAN cable in the hub, and also mine in the hub, and thus I have internet, the only problem now is that everyone who is connected to the hub has internet access, all they have to do is assign themselves an IP, say, 192.168.xx.xx, and a default gateway 192.168.52.1 and default nameserver 192.168.52.1. This situation is however not acceptable, is it possible in any way that the other computers do not get access to the college LAN, The hub is not configurable at all as it is just the cheapest one.

-------------------------
http://kniwor.wordpress.com
 03/04/2007 02:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

If u can't configure the hub, I don't see how. U can always switch cables

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 03/04/2007 02:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kniwor
Senior Member

Posts: 1731
Joined: 01/23/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: boule
If u can't configure the hub, I don't see how. U can always switch cables



switch cables???


-------------------------
http://kniwor.wordpress.com
 03/04/2007 03:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
boule
Senior Member

Posts: 2621
Joined: 10/24/2005

well connect ur pc to the internet and switch to the router if u want to connect to the network

-------------------------
Desktop:
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ (Barton) @ 200x10.5=2100MHz | Asus A7N8X Deluxe | Corsair 2xCMX512-3200C2PT @ 2.5-3-3-8 | MSI GeForce FX 5600 128MB | Hitachi Deskstar T7K250 160GB SATA II | Antec NeoPower 480W | Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Fatal1ty

Laptop:
Dell Latitude 120L | Intel Pentium M 740 | OCZ 2x1GB PC2-5400 | Western Digital Scorpio WD1200VE 120GB
 03/04/2007 09:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
redclawkefar
Senior Member

Posts: 1082
Joined: 02/15/2004

quote:

Originally posted by: boule
well connect ur pc to the internet and switch to the router if u want to connect to the network


...or... buy a usb network card or second internal pci card for your pc.

something like this:
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCa...Page...oduct_Id=281799
or
http://www.amazon.com/gp/produ...62R4...697&sr=1-30
or
http://www.amazon.com/gp/produ...85ZK...697&sr=1-30

so, for example, plug the LAN into your pc so you can stay connected to the mates in your hostel, but use the network from the university with the usb key for your pc with internet use.

-------------------------
SYSTEM-1: 2x Viewsonic VX900-2 19"| Tyan S2885ANRF (Rev.A, bios v2.07) | 1x ATI Radeon X800 Pro 256MB | 2x AMD Opteron 248-HE Single-Core CPU | 8x 512mb PC3200 Corsair XMS Series ECC Reg. (CMX512RE-3200LL) | 2x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 10,000rpm RAID0 (ST336607LW) | 1x Seagate LVD 36.7Gb U320 SCSI 1
 03/04/2007 09:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kniwor
Senior Member

Posts: 1731
Joined: 01/23/2005

Yeah, I already have another PCI Ethernet card, I'll just have to go through the pains of getting the Ethernet cables clamped all over again, that's all. No big deal, I was just looking for a quick solution.

-------------------------
http://kniwor.wordpress.com
 03/04/2007 11:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

Correct me if I am wrong but you want to:

a) Have four computers connected to a hub in a such a way that you have a small network between the four computers.
Only allow your computer a connection to the internet

The only way I can think of accomplishing this is to buy a secondary network card. Setup one connection to receive and IP automatically, and then you would probably setup the other one as a 192.168.0.X ip on each computer. However, even there I am not sure how well it would work.
 03/05/2007 03:22 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kniwor
Senior Member

Posts: 1731
Joined: 01/23/2005

quote:

Originally posted by: bvchurch
Correct me if I am wrong but you want to:

a) Have four computers connected to a hub in a such a way that you have a small network between the four computers.
Only allow your computer a connection to the internet

The only way I can think of accomplishing this is to buy a secondary network card. Setup one connection to receive and IP automatically, and then you would probably setup the other one as a 192.168.0.X ip on each computer. However, even there I am not sure how well it would work.



you are right, and that's what I am about to do.

-------------------------
http://kniwor.wordpress.com
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information