AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 8 to 10 port router
Topic Summary: looking for an 8 or 10 port router
Created On: 07/21/2007 10:21 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/21/2007 10:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DTSNEO6
Junior Member

Posts: 15
Joined: 07/17/2007

I'm looking for a 8 or 10 port router. I'd rather not use a 4 port router then plug it into a 8 port router. I was wondering if anyone new of any 8 or 10 port routers to make my home network easier.

-------------------------
Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor
EVGA 590 SLI mainboard
PNY 4GB 667mhz RAM
EVGA 8800 Ultra Superclocked
Seagate 150GB SATA hard drive
Sony DRU720A DVD RW
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
 07/27/2007 07:40 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

I see no one has replied to your topic yet but their are 8-10 port routers that have a switch built in.

What I would do is buy a good router and a good but cheap 5 port (or 1 in and 4 out) switch...

A switch is just like adding additional ports, as the first router has to do all the work.
 03/22/2008 10:47 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
ysfoo71
Junior Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 03/22/2008

Get a 4 port router and add a switch would be cheaper

-------------------------
AMD 64 x2 Dual Core 4400+ 2.3 GHz RAM 2942 MB .
Cookie Diet for 40 days and losing 30 lbs.
The Cookie Diet Plan
 01/02/2010 01:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
elderco
Newbie

Posts: 19
Joined: 01/02/2010

Yes, it is cheaper to stack a switch on the top of a four port router, but I think you are right that an 8 port router is better all in all. Here is why, first the cost isn't that different if you have to buy two devices. Second, the 8 port router will likely have more features as it will be more geared to business use. Third, the port probably will have more address space to remember addresses. Look at Linksys or Dlink for these for home use. Stay away from no name off brand routers, they run hot and give a lot of problems.

-------------------------
Here in Tampa where it's usually too hot and the bugs and gators are usually too big. Tampa Computer Repair
 08/19/2011 02:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
paulanderson
Newbie

Posts: 50
Joined: 08/17/2011

Yes, you can use 4 port router rather than 8 port router...it will good for you.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information