AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Peering
Topic Summary: ADSL and Cable
Created On: 09/12/2007 07:29 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/12/2007 07:29 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Here's the situation:
Network #1 has cable connection (via a router)
Network #2 has ADSL connection (via a router).
I want to peer up the networks so when either the ADSL or Cable fails, all users from both networks will still have internet connection.

Will something like this work if I just connect the two networks via a switch?

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 09/13/2007 12:34 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
444
Member

Posts: 33
Joined: 11/29/2006

No, not completely.

I'm thinking of solutions but they sound complicated...

One way would be to get the two routers to redirect to each other when they lose connection, but that's complicated to do even if they're one of the few models that can do it...
Or if the routers don't support the above feature, set one computer as the gateway (<- most routers should support that) and have it decide between cable and adsl for everybody... still complicated.

Or the 'easy' way, have users manually type in the other gateway when one fails...

Edited: 09/13/2007 at 12:35 AM by 444
 09/14/2007 06:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

I know about the manual way.
The routers are both basic; no advanced functions.
I was thinking of adding gateway 1 as default for half the users and gw2 for the other half. After that, I could add gw2 as secondary to the first half of users and gw1 as secondary for the rest.
That way, theoretically, half the users would use one network and half would use another and when failiure would occur, the secondary gw would be used for the users with the failed connection and all users would be using the working connection.
This would require some advanced router configuration with assigned IPs and back-up auto-assignable IPs.
Do you think this will work ?

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 11/06/2007 06:43 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

I found this router.
I think it can do what I want... but I can't find any good reviews of it.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information