AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Forum Warz: Team Fusion Chat Room
Topic Summary: Chat Room to discuss things and such... just a starter for now
Created On: 06/08/2010 12:48 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
1 2 Next Last unread
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/08/2010 12:48 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

So lastnight I was asked to go to the forum chat... and well, we who were there found out very quickly just how much it sucked! So being the guy I am I said I would set-up something better... something that is eazy peazy and quick for people to learn.

A few years ago I was playing Tribal Wars Online and my Tribe was doing all their discussions via Skype. At first I balked at the idea of using Skype for this... I did not even think it did such things.... But in the end, to play better and be part of the team I downloaded Skype and quickly found just how awesome and powerful a tool it can be. Lastnight, it was the first thing that popped into my mind.

Now it had been a few years since I last used Skype, so I had to get familiar with it again and learn all the new things. But 5 hours later I think I am ready to post this message and get more people onboard with this. So far PC-GURU and TravisFTW are in.

Features of Skype for Chat? Here they are (ones I have found, I am sure there are more!):

1) History of conversation (400 messages or 2 weeks, whichever comes first)

2) IRC like chat options. Access control, user levels/roles (ie. admin privileges, sort of)

3) Message editing... you can use the [UP ARROW] to edit your messages on the fly. No need to post a second message for a correction (Editing is indicated by a little pencil beside the time stamp of the message)

4) Personalized alerts... you can set up keyword alerts for individual conversations and set alert types. Very useful if you are like me and you have a group chat closed and want to know when "your name" is called

Now on to the heart of the message!!

First, download Skype and install it. And for all you out there who think it might be a resource hog (and really is your system that old that you need to worry about resources!) it is currently only using around 40MB of memory (less than a third of what Azureus is using).
Get Skype here!

Second, setup a user name (if you don't already have one)

Third, add me (qb.the.killer) as a contact. I will then send you my Team Fusion contact list, not needed, but it will help to get you started.

Then click this link to go to the group chat:
Overclocker's Corner: Home of Team Fusion

Click on the awesome Dragon (Thanks kleetus!)

Now there are a few rules to follow to keep this chat active for you.
1) DO NOT CLICK "Leave Conversation" (you will need to be invited back in if the Chat is closed to joining)
2) DO NOT TYPE "/leave" same as above
3) DO NOT DELETE the conversation from your conversation tab


Simple.

So I have made the chat open to everyone for now and newbies can post... at least I hope I have set it up properly for that. I am sure I will hear if I did something wrong

Please come one and come all!

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)

Edited: 06/18/2010 at 04:37 PM by AMD Processors Moderator
 06/08/2010 02:19 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Well done QB, you did well.

We all thank you.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 06/08/2010 02:30 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Logged in

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2




Edited: 06/08/2010 at 03:02 AM by OC Maximus
 06/08/2010 08:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Okay great... so far we have PC-GURU, X-tremedreamer, 383HEMI, TravisFTW and myself.

dreamer and I were trying out the voice option lastnight for a group call. Very cool, I had never used it before. Crystal clear sound, there did not seem to be any lag what so ever. A good way to just chit chat if you are not really discussing something important that you want others to read... It was actually funny since HEMI was there as well with no mic... if you read the chat it looks like HEMI is nuts and talking to himself!! LOL

Anyway, another cool tool of this powerful app.

I will be posting some more tips and tricks I have learned since I installed this. Also if anyone has any ideas about the "portal" site I created that directs you to the group please post them here as well. That site will be available for anything Team Fusion needs. Weebly seems very easy to use and it is free. I really want to change the banner, so if anyone finds something cool please post (anything accepted at this point, the dirty hands have to go!). Here is our site again:
Overclocker's Corner: Home of Team Fusion

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/08/2010 10:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

So I will bump this up... and also keep posting some tips.

Skype allows you to edit your already posted messages. Right click OR use the [UP_ARROW]

Skype allows you to rename contacts and those renamed contacts will appear on your end of the convo with the edited name so you can better identify people

You can set alerts for key-words... great feature if you have a group chat and yet you are doing other things as well....


So come and join the group.

I am also still looking for a banner to add to the "portal" website I created that guides people to the chat room.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/08/2010 10:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Ahhh I'll be there in a second, just have to create an account and log-in to Ubuntu

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/08/2010 11:33 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Glad to have you onboard

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/09/2010 01:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Decembermouse
Mad Scientist

Posts: 2149
Joined: 03/31/2004

It will be a couple days before I have a computer capable of Skype... this one is frakked up. Need to get English Windows and proper drivers installed before I can do anything but use Firefox

-------------------------
ASRock M3A785GMH/128M
Phenom II X4 925c2 @ 2.80GHz (95W)
OCZ Platinum PC3-1333 2x2GB 7-7-7-21
WD5000AADS
Raidmax RX-500AF
Check it out.
 06/09/2010 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Well lastnight was a lot of fun and informative. 5 of us spent a lot of time just chit chatting about things and it was a good way to get to know the group. More and more this is looking like it will be a useful way to help people and share knowledge

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/09/2010 03:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I just discovered another new cool part of Skype. If you are leaving a conversation, but will be coming back at some point in the future, all you need to do is "right-click" the last massge of the conversation and select "move bookmark here" and it closes the discussion window. When you come back it will tell you how many new messages there are in the conversation.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/09/2010 04:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PC-GURU -
Lurker

Posts: 8018
Joined: 11/11/2008

Originally posted by: QB the Slayer

Well last night was a lot of fun and informative. 5 of us spent a lot of time just chit chatting about things and it was a good way to get to know the group. More and more this is looking like it will be a useful way to help people and share knowledge



QB


Let,s give it up for chief of chat.

hip hip hooray hip hip hooray lol

Job well done QB with out a doubt.

Last night was great, that and we found out X has a kick'en accent lol.

-------------------------
AMD phenom II 1090T @ 4.23 Ghz custom water cooled
Asrock 890 FX deluxe 3 mother board
4 GB DDR 3 1600 @ 1688 Mhz 7 7 7 24 T1 2688 Mhz NB
2x 1 TB WD Sata III 64 mb cache HDD,s raid 0
2x 5870 HD @ 1015/1300 Asus reference
Dual OS win 7 x64 ultimate & win 7 x32 Ultimate (bench os)
 06/09/2010 05:50 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
technic58
Minister of Spare Parts

Posts: 13953
Joined: 07/25/2004

May have to check this out, Skype seems to be all the rage lately.

Move to retitle QB the Slayer to "Chief of Chat", haha, I like that Guru.

-------------------------
My GT430 Is Folding For AMD Team 34106
FOR A GOOD CAUSE---Accepting Donations of New, Used, Working, Nonworking PC Components
Thanks to KLEETUS for his generous donation of components!!
 06/09/2010 09:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

This was a problem 6 months ago... and it's still a problem. Skype simply launching causes my system to Hard Lock. No BSOD, no pretty colors, just a hard lock. It's useless for me.

Oh, and 6 months ago, I took it up with the idiots at the Skype forums, and the admins there happily told me it wasn't the programs fault, and that it must be my computer. they failed to think of any solutions past that their program was perfect.



If anybody here can think of anything... please let me know.


It does work in XP Mode, but the mic is not passed through, so again... worthless.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/09/2010 09:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

On another note... Ventrilo is working like a charm on my PC, so it's not the audio hardware.


oh... and it has chat too...

<nudge nudge>

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/09/2010 10:49 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

Disable exclusive mode in the sound properties and see if that wroks. If not, I won't suggest anything else to have you hard locking up anymore.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 06/09/2010 11:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Can't get that far. It hard locks on the splash screen.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/10/2010 12:15 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

Are you using the latest versionof Skype? I think what Porsche was saying is that in your audio properties in windows you should try disabling exclusive control. Seen here:



I am not sure that will help, but I think that is what Porsche was getting at

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 06/10/2010 12:23 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Immortal Lobster
Resident Crustacean

Posts: 12033
Joined: 01/26/2005

Yeap, latest version, and as I said, crashes at the splash screen, can't get to settings.

-------------------------

The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 06/10/2010 12:50 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

Sorry guys, I think I broke Skype. 8(

Posted a couple of things and it's still showing the loading icon to the right of the post.

GO BLACKHAWKS ! ! ! 8)

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2
 06/10/2010 12:51 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

WINDOWS SPEAKER SETTINGS.... nothing to do with Skype. Try the disabling and then try Skype

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information