AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: 4GHz and Above
Topic Summary:
Created On: 06/27/2010 06:16 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/27/2010 06:16 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Now that I've finished my water cooling setup I'm working on a higher benching OC. Not looking for 100% stable, just a higher OC where I can runs some benchmarks.

My highest STABLE OC currently is 4.0GHz

20x200MHz = 4000MHz @ 1.52 Vcore
NB 2600MHz @ 1.26v
HT 2000MHz @ 1.2v
DRAM 1600MHz @ 1.65v (8-8-8-20 T1)
CPU Temp = 25c @ Idle, 46c @ 100% Load Intel Burn Test

I can Benchmark at 4.2 GHz.

21x200MHz = 4200MHz @ 1.57 Vcore
CPU Temp = 30c @ Idle

My question is, what Vcore is safe above 4GHz and where should I cross the line on temperature?

Whats the approximate Vcore for:

4.1GHz
4.2GHz
4.3GHz
4.4GHz

Only looking for a ballpark, I know OC advice isn't a perfect science.

Thanks,

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 06/27/2010 01:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
X-tremedreamer
Case Modder

Posts: 1092
Joined: 03/02/2008

1.55 to 1.65 for 4.3 to 4.4 depending on your board
1.7+ to get over 4.6

This is what I have from my notes told to me from equinox in the TRP Forums. He was running a water cooled 955 on a Foxconn A79A-s board, during the 2010 winter warz.

-------------------------
 06/27/2010 02:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Thanks, that really helps.

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 06/28/2010 03:18 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Hit 4.3GHz @ 1.66 Vcore today, at least for a little while

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 06/28/2010 03:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
slaveondope
Case Modder

Posts: 1592
Joined: 01/25/2010

4.3ghz is about all your going to get that was the max for me as well.
No amount of voltage would help I think 1.62v was the most Id tried.
Maybe with temps under 20c better can be achieved but....I guess winter isnt that cold there

-------------------------
More Advanced Micro Devices than Intel
 06/28/2010 01:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
X-tremedreamer
Case Modder

Posts: 1092
Joined: 03/02/2008

Extreme Cooling is mostly what is needed to get into the upper 4Ghz - 6Ghz according to publications that I have read................ So I guess that means breaking out the LN2

-------------------------
 06/28/2010 01:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Best I can do for cooling right now is my little diy water chiller.

Guess I can max out my clock then throw the chiller in the loop and hope for the best. I've had my idle temps as low as 8c @ 1.55 Vcore but fudged up my test. I set room temperature too low, @ 19c, to get the screenshot consistent with all my other chiller experiment screenshots so I scrapped the test. I want to run all my test at 21c to 22c for comparison sake. Now I'm waiting for the ice to freeze again before I make another 4GHz run on ice.

Coil will look like this for my next 4GHz @1.55 Vcore test.



Here are my 4GHz @ 1.55 Vcore temps with ice water in the chiller.


Reservoir Temperature 11c at idle and 15c at the end of 20 runs of IBT.



Did that same test with the ice block and got it down to 8c cpu temp at idle and 4c reservoir temp.

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 06/28/2010 01:53 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Marioland, X-treamedreamer and I were talking yesterday and came up with some good ideas to make my water chiller more efficient. Guess I have some work to do this week

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 04/24/2011 05:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
M4kne
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 04/24/2011

Well people I´m from Spain and I see this. The Most important for the OC is cpu Voltage, for example if you have 4Ghz but 1.55vcore this is a big *****. adjust lantencys of RAm and Fsb






http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=1779998
 09/26/2011 12:03 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
roerringpr
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 09/26/2011

hi ive got a question im running the new gigabyte 990fxa umd-5 mainboard with an amd phenom x6 1100t black edition cpu also running 2x 4gig corsa 1866 rams and a coolermaster water system now im trying to overclock it and or just get the rams to pick up 1866 every time ive tried me comp crashes as atm me rams runing at 1600 in bios with no further settings to get to 1866 also tried every cpu setting avail and overclock seems to fail me cpu temp atm is 36 digrees plz help me with this as its sort of fustrating me
 09/26/2011 07:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

1866 requires a CPU base clock of 233MHz and a RAM multi of x8.00. You will also need to manually set the RAM timings and voltage. Other multi's will also need to be adjusted accordingly and the PCI-e set to 100MHz. The IMC of the Phenom II has a top speed of 1600MHz (200x8.00) anything above and beyond is an OC.

I have a C2 965 and I have managed to get her up to 1856MHz (232*8.00) with a CPU-NB multi of x10 and an HTT Link multi of x9.

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 04/16/2012 01:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MaknusDave
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 04/15/2012

i have P2 X4 955 C3 and ASUS M4A87TD/USB3 and i cant stable to 3.8 ;( with all auto and offset 1,416 vcore
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information