AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: New to over clocking, looking for help
Topic Summary:
Created On: 09/23/2010 04:38 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 09/23/2010 04:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
soggy-oggy
Lurker

Posts: 6
Joined: 09/23/2010

I just received my Phenom II 965 BE in the mail from newegg today and figured I'd over clock it to as high as I could before I needed help. My goal was 4.0 GHZ and I got it to 3.96GHZ, anyone have experience with my CPU and or motherboard that would be able to give me advice on what to set everything too? I have water cooling and 7 fans in my cosmos S case so cooling isn't an issue.

Another thing is I have seen people change their RAM settings or something like when they over clock their CPU, how much of a performance upgrade is that and how hard is it to do?

Oh and another thing is even with 3.96GHZ and 2 9800 GT's over clocked crysis still kicks my systems ass, maybe I will have to wait till I get my new video cards but do you guys think something might be set wrong in my computer?

-------------------------
Phenom II 965 OC'D to 4.02GHZ, M3N-HT deluxe Motherboard, 8 Gigs of ram, 1000W Power Supply, 9800 GT's in SLI (Soon to be GTX 460's in SLI).

Edited: 09/23/2010 at 05:32 AM by soggy-oggy
 09/23/2010 11:02 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PV9685
Fanboi

Posts: 82
Joined: 05/11/2010

I am no extreme overclocker, but I am a high-up tech guy that gets a little nuts at 3AM... I usually set the ram to the slowest setting. Say you have DDR3-1600.. I set it at 800MHz and get my CPU all set. Once the CPU is stable I work on the RAM. From my understanding - the Ram MHz is just the I/O Rate, so if I/O rate goes down and latencies are reduced as well, the chips may be running around the same speed wether the I/O is 800mhz or double that. (CAS / Advertised MHZ ie: 1333) * 2000 = chip timing in ns. ...Cas 7 DDR3 1333 = (7 / 1333) * 2000 = 10.5ns = 95.2MHz ....and you thought PC100 was slow of course an 8x data rate helps

I don't know about you but I got an Athlon II 620 - my logic is this... I don't need the L3 cache much; and with the stock speed of 2600MHz.. that leaves 1400MHz headroom that I didn't have to pay for -> cause it hits 3.6GHz on stock voltage so... what the heck, 4's just a lil more.
 09/23/2010 11:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PV9685
Fanboi

Posts: 82
Joined: 05/11/2010

BTW, what's more fun is overclocking the integrated graphics on this 785G board.. stock is 500MHz, it hits 1000 at ease on stock voltages. I've never tried higher but, I think it's funny to overclock it. 4G/Texels! Wooo!
 09/24/2010 01:13 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Overclocker

Posts: 565
Joined: 11/06/2005

Originally posted by: PV9685DDR3-1600... I set it at 800MHz and get my CPU set. Once the CPU is stable I work on the RAM. From my understanding - the Ram MHz is the I/O Rate. If the I/O rate goes down and latencies are reduced as well, the chips may be running around the same speed whether the I/O is 800mhz or double that.
I understand that both my set-ups have a latency of 10ns but are not the same speed and timings.
Originally posted by: PV9685(CAS / Advertised MHZ ie: 1333) * 2000 = chip timing in ns. ...Cas 7 DDR3 1333 = (7 / 1333) * 2000 = 10.5ns = 95.2MHz ... You thought PC100 was slow. An 8x data rate helps.
How did you get ~95.2mhz from DDR3-1333?

-------------------------
Lad

I have had this name before the public announcement of L4D.
 09/30/2010 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PV9685
Fanboi

Posts: 82
Joined: 05/11/2010

"How did you get ~95.2mhz from DDR3-1333?" - From the JEDEC documents. They are a bit optimistic though and list anywhere from 100MHz through 166MHz for JEDEC spec DDR3-1333.(Depending on a latency from 7 to 10ns; 7 being typical) Bear in mind 1333 is MT/s and the I/O is clocked at 667.

It's not only about how many HZ, it's how much you get done per HZ. Hence 2x, 4x, and 8x data rate memories.
 09/30/2010 08:51 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
L4d
Overclocker

Posts: 565
Joined: 11/06/2005

Prefetch buffer of 8 burst deep for DDR3. Example: DDR3-1600 = 200mhz x 8 prefetch = 1600mhz?
I/O bus clock of DDR3-1600 is 800mhz and DDR thereby = 1600mhz.
This is off topic eh?
I do not understand how less than 166mhz for DDR3-1333 was attained!

-------------------------
Lad

I have had this name before the public announcement of L4D.
 10/01/2010 12:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PV9685
Fanboi

Posts: 82
Joined: 05/11/2010

IT doesn't look like I can post a PDF on this forum; but, you can create a free account on the JEDEC website and download the DDR3 Spec Document here: DDR3 SDRAM STANDARD

Interestingly the 10.5ns that I stated is the minimum per the JEDEC spec for CAS 7 DDR3-1333, the max is 20ns.
 10/01/2010 12:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

So where in you oc specifically do you need help?

OCM

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information