AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: I'm back
Topic Summary: and meaner than ever
Created On: 11/16/2010 06:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/16/2010 06:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

After near 6 months of running without RAID, I broke down and decided to take it to the next level with three WD CB 1TBs in RAID-0. Unfortunately, with Windows, I had to partition the drive, but I did so within the controller. I ran HDTach, on an un-defragmented HDD setup witha bunch of benchmarks and games installed. The drives are SATA3 but jumpered to SATA2 due to my motherboard not having SATA3 (which results to them operating at SATA1 if not jumpered).

I have to say I'm impressed so far, especially with PCMark Vantage results which made my old Samsung SpinPoint 120Cs (250GB) look like a snail sniffing glue. Sure, they aren't SSD speeds, but they are much cheaper, and I have plenty of room for my OSes, especially WIndows Server 2008 Enterprise which likes plenty of room to play with.



At the very least, Forum Warz bluescreen reboots will take a lot less time to recover from, haha.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
 11/16/2010 08:06 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
QB the Slayer
Case Modder

Posts: 1304
Joined: 01/23/2010

I would think 3 Blacks would have better performance than that. Minimum should be 250 MB/s

QB

-------------------------

The MONSTER HTPC

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 C2 (140W).||.Cooler: Corsair H80i
MB: Gigabyte 990FXA-UD7.||.RAM: 8 GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3 2000MHz (7-10-8-27-1T)
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932.||.PSU: Corsair HX750
GPU:HIS IceQ 5 Radeon HD 5770 Turbo 1GB.||.Audio: Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro w/ Logitech Z-5300e (5.1, 280W-RMS)
Drive: 2xKingston SSD 40GB RAID0.||.Storage: 6TB (4x500GB Caviar Black RAID0, 2TB Hitachi & 2TB Caviar Green)
 11/16/2010 10:04 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

I had to run HDTach in compatability mode. That could be the problem there, as even in some of the Vantage tests it's marking higher MB/s. So, ATTO to the rescue.



I ran the default settings, except set the total length to 1GB. The numbers here seem more in line with what I'm getting.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information