AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Ultra ChillTEC, Cooler Master V10
Topic Summary: A TEC is a TEC, is a TEC
Created On: 11/29/2010 08:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 11/29/2010 08:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
X-tremedreamer
Case Modder

Posts: 1092
Joined: 03/02/2008

It was brought to my attention that TRP has changed the Cooling breakdown a bit. It looks like this:

Air= 0
Water = 1
Chiller & Tec = 2
Phase & DICE = 3
Cascades & LN2 = 4

Now this is cut and dried, and though I tried for some exceptions for the rule, there will not be any.

This means that those of you that have a V-10, ChillTEC, or any other of the Air/TEC Hybrids, as well as any of the Watercoolers that are using TECs in the loop, will be considered a TEC cooler and have a handicap rating of two (2).

So when you are setting up your cooling system, try for a class that you can afford to hit at least mid point on. If this means you are getting creative with your cooling systems, that is acceptable. A Water loop with a Radiator outside in 2 foot of snow, is still a water cooler and a handicap rating of 1.

Sorry guys, it was not the answer I wanted to have to bring to you all, but the Judges at TRP have voted on it, and there is nothing more I can do. If there are any questions, just let me know, and I will do my best to answer it or get the answer for you.

-------------------------
 11/30/2010 08:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

what if i run my benchmarks in a shed that is 0 degrees farenheight with a water cooler with an ice loop

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32
 11/30/2010 09:48 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

To the best of my knowledge if its water cooled, then its water cooled. Whether the rad be in room temp, or like X-tremedreamer said rad in the snow, the whole system can be out there or whatever, its still classified as water.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 12/01/2010 01:57 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
X-tremedreamer
Case Modder

Posts: 1092
Joined: 03/02/2008

Originally posted by: kleetus

what if i run my benchmarks in a shed that is 0 degrees Fahrenheit with a water cooler with an ice loop


Water cooled, 1 point

-------------------------
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information