AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Unlocked Multiplier For Phenom x6 1055T ?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 02/02/2011 02:22 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 02/02/2011 02:22 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crashandburned
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2011

Hi guys ,

I have recently changed my 955BE due to overheating issues with a 1055T , one thing I've noticed .. in the Bios this CPU supposedly has a locked multiplier but mine shows i can change it from 16X to lower , whilst according to information I've gathered it should only be locked to 14x like with an athlon x4 series ..

Is this normal , did I get a new version or what , bios error ? .. but before in my bios for 955BE it can go up and down up to 25x ... and according to bios on my new 1055T it says i can change frequency ..


I have an emaxx amd880g-fxn motherboard ... any comments would greatly be appreciated ... just a newbie here .
will post screenshots later

Thanks.
 02/02/2011 02:46 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Canis-X
The Frozen One

Posts: 4142
Joined: 01/19/2009

You may need to clear your CMOS since you changed CPU's for you to see the correct information in the BIOS, or you may need to flash an older BIOS version.

-------------------------
The opinions expressed above do not represent those of Advanced Micro Devices or any of their affiliates.
 02/02/2011 09:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crashandburned
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2011

will do , ... thanks .. will post what happens ...
 02/03/2011 03:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crashandburned
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2011

already cleared the CMOS and bios restored , cause for my athlon it was 14.5 x and was locked , 955BE you can crank it up to 25x and can change frequency all the way but for my new 1055t it shows 16.5x and unlocked .. ... see screenshots after doing steps ... i dont know if this is normal ... or i might have just gotten an unlocked multiplier by chance..

http://s1134.photobucket.com/a...Multiplier/?start=all

thanks for any additional input on this ...
 02/03/2011 03:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
cvsi3
Elite

Posts: 1955
Joined: 01/31/2008

I have a feeling its because the cpu runs at 2.8Ghz base speed, and 3.3Ghz in Turbo mode. So the bios and chip have to be able to change the multi on the fly up to 16.5 for turbo. It might not let you actually set it at that all the time tho.

-------------------------
i7 2600K - Asus Maximus Extreme-Z - G.Skill DDR3 2133 CL9 - MSI 5870 - Corsair 1200w PSU - 2 x Western Digital Raptors Raid 0 - Swiftech Apogee XT Water Block - Swiftech MCP655 Pump - 120mm Quad Rad - Windows 7 - Ubuntu x64

5311Mhz Validation
 02/03/2011 08:53 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
crashandburned
Lurker

Posts: 7
Joined: 01/22/2011

that is also my guess ..16.5x x 200 = 3.3 ghz .. im hoping someone who has a 1055t could shed light on this case ... i always check on my bios and it has always been set to 16.5x ..

This is my 2nd built pc .. original one was the classic pentium 4 when it first got out of the market ... but i've been researchin a lot lately about the 3 chips athlon x4 635 , locked multiplier 955BE unlocked and the 1055t that was supposedly should have showed as locked also the same as athlon x4 if im not mistakin'.. has anyone seen the bios of the 1055t ..

I think this is the same case as mine

http://www.overclock.net/amd-c...-16-5-multi-bios.html

--

Im new with AMD so trying to check how far it goes ...BTW my pentium 4 still works , love intel but my wife would kill me if i bought the i7 .. lol.
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information