AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Phenom II max thermal output?
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/28/2011 10:28 AM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/28/2011 10:28 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Blackops_2
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/28/2011

I've read and been told not to exceed 55C and that the processors are temp sensitive. Which is hard for me to stomach considering i was wanting to hit 3.8-4.0 on air. AMD's page says 62C though just like my intel products that i've owned. Below 55 on air seems a bit tough unless ambient temps are just that cold. Right now i'm currently cooling with a zalman 9500.

Before i set memory to the timings they're at now, i had 12 hrs prime95 (Min FFT:2096 Max: 4096/ Memory: 6000mb] and 5rds of IBT.

Set memory to the timings they're at in my sig ran memtest and passed. So i proceeded to run IBT 10 rds on maximum instead of 5. And i failed the 8th round. It could be that Cpu is just unstable and might need a slight increase. But if the processor is temp sensitive then i'm also considering heat being the cause, Load temps were 58C. Rather high but ambient temp was 81F which is hot for that room. Currently re-running the test at 71F, load temp is 54C. It's much faster this time around.

Vcore: 1.375
Memory Voltage: 1.65
NB/CPU Volts: 1.25
HT link speed: 2000mhz
CPU/NB frequency: 2200mhz

Update
Appears heat had something to do with it. Just passed 10rds on maximum with max load of 54C.

-------------------------
Phenom II 955 @ 3.6
Asus Sabertooth 990Fx
8Gb Mushkin Blackline DDR2000 @ 1600mhz 7-10-8-27/2T
KFA2 GTX-470

Edited: 07/28/2011 at 11:01 AM by Blackops_2
 07/28/2011 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bjaday
Newbie

Posts: 44
Joined: 06/15/2011

62c is max, i try not to go over 58c
you should have no problem hitting 3.8.
have you tried bumping the vcore up?
you should be safe with anything 1.5 and under.
i ran my 965 at 4.0 on 1.488 vcore 24/7.
i say give it a shot
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information