AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Asus Crosshair IV Formula
Topic Summary: Helpful tips and links
Created On: 06/30/2010 11:23 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 06/30/2010 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

Congratulations on buying a kick ass board, because if you're like everyone else you had buyers remorse the moment it was in your machine.8)
In all the reviews it looked great, but when it was plopped in your case it didn't have that same sparkle.
This was a nice CHART I saw to help alleviate some of that remorse.

I haven't really pushed this board yet, but I wanted to share the wealth of knowledge I've obtained.

EKWaterBlocks, if you like your lunch liquid.

Here's a chart I found on the many voltages to adjust. I think this is where I found it. LINK



This is a LINK to one of the many OC forums. A good collection of PROS and NOOBS, so lots of Q and A (a wealth of information if you have the patience to search the 200 plus pages)

From Bit-tech:
For those gamers interested in getting maximum gaming performance from your hardware, you'll be pleased to hear that we set a new record highest HTT with this board at 350MHz, meaning that the C4F has masses of overclocking potential. To achieve this we used a 1.35V CPU/NB and HT and passed 1.2V through the Southbridge (called 'SB' in the BIOS), and we reset the CPU to its default triple-core configuration.

We couldn't use all of this HTT when trying for a maximum overall overclock though, having to settle for a HTT of 285MHz and a CPU multiplier of 13. This boosted our CPU from 2.8GHz to 3.7GHz, but required a vcore of 1.5V, 1.35V for the chipset (called 'NB') and HT, and 1.31V for the Southbridge.


The bottom of this page is the first time I've seen someone talk about the problem I have had getting my 2000MHz memory above 1750MHz. LINK

More to come, and when i get to seriously ocing this board, I will share.

Hopefully this can become a good reference for all.

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2


Edited: 07/01/2010 at 05:48 PM by marioland
 06/30/2010 11:31 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Nice!!

Gonna stay air cooled or going water with your new board?

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 06/30/2010 11:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

After finding that water block I'm seriously considering it, but first a couple of new HD5850s I've had my eye on.

Nice personal review. LINK (note that his ram is running 2000MHz at the end)

Another nice review, more literal. LINK (chart from my first post is in there)

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2


Edited: 07/01/2010 at 12:09 AM by marioland
 07/01/2010 06:08 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

I push the ch4 hard on stock chip-set block , its a solid board . Keep in mind board needs proper bios support and proper bios setup by the owner .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 07/01/2010 07:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

My train of thought goes; need a better cooler for cpu... case too small... what about water... holy s--t, look at all of these water setups...

I'm probably going to stay on air for a while, at least until my video cards are updated. After that it's probably going to be winter here, so then it wont be a concern
until a year from now, realistically speaking.

I don't see you on the roster, are you still interested on checking in to keep the overclocking interesting? The more samples we have to compare the better.

Had to forgo the gpus for a while. For anyone buying this board, don't buy Kingston 2000MHz CL9 2x2GB ram. Not living up to its billing. Found these little babies, G-SKILL, just so happens the reviewer had the same cpu/mobo setup. I'll update, to let you know how they perform.

Hopefully this helps anyone who's considering, or in the middle of, a rebuild.

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2


Edited: 07/03/2010 at 09:45 PM by marioland
 07/07/2010 03:10 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
detta[1*]
Lurker

Posts: 8
Joined: 07/07/2010

i am interested in this board i was thinking of making it my next upgrade ,is the bios confusing?

also are there alot of options in the bios? and would it be a good buy?
 07/07/2010 05:26 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

Originally posted by: detta[1*]

i am interested in this board i was thinking of making it my next upgrade ,is the bios confusing?



also are there alot of options in the bios? and would it be a good buy?


MegaTrend Republic of Gamers bios , top rank bios with deep option setting for AMD . Confusing ? No , mother board manual is your friend on any mb . Is is a good buy ? Yes for $219.00 its not bad at all . A little note on your confusing question , we have several users here with CH4 boards and would help you with yours if you needed it . My CH4 is solid , takes every set I've thrown at it .

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 07/17/2010 11:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

If your building a rig with this board and a 1090T, this RAM works. G.SKILL Flare

With modest voltage adjustments i got these to run at rated
2000 7-9-7-24 with 1T and also \\ 1800 6-8-6-21-1T \\ 1600 6-7-6-19-1T
Those numbers are rough. I'm sure you can do better.

If you use the D.O.C.P. in Ai overclock tuner in the BIOS it will set up for you, but you need to make sure they're stable, as with any RAM, that's why the "modest voltage adjustment". (also because of the 1T instead of the 2T)

With everything supporting Intel it's nice to find RAM for AMD that will run 2000 CL7.

My old sticks were Kingston Hyper x 2000 CL9, did not work. Good RAM, i'm sure, excellent customer support, really sad they didn't work because of it.

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2
 08/13/2010 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lockie
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/13/2010

Hello people!Im new to amd forums and i dropped to ask some help.I own a crosshair iv since 2 months.Was very excited when it came in my hands.I threw a 965 be on it and i overclocked it at 3.8 ghz by increasing the cpu fsb 1 hz each time the multiplier stocked at 17.Was working nice all these time and temperatures fair enough since im living in a very hot country(Greece) and using watercooling on my system both cpu-chipsets and mofset.Last day was one of my worst days in my life.Woke up tryed to fire up my putter and the string code was stucked at cpu initial. My system since then wont boot up.Tryed eveything.Reseting cmos twice even removing the battery.Should i buy a new cpu or a new system?Please give me some help.:`(

-------------------------
Watercooled system
Asus crosshair iv
Amd Phenom 965Be Oc 3.8ghz
Crosshair proffesional 750 wat
Pny 4ghz 1.8ghz(2Ghz max oc)
Pny xlr8 9600gt
 08/13/2010 02:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
unclefester1
Overclocker

Posts: 629
Joined: 11/29/2008

Hey Lockie, welcome to the forum.
I see the steps you've already taken, but you may want to try it again. This time use only 1 stick of memory, pull the on-board battery, unplug from the wall, hit the power button to discharge any stored power that the MoBo may be retaining, then clear the CMOS again, and walk away for 10 or 15 minutes. Put the battery back in and see if it will start.
If it still doesn't fire the next thing to try would be to find out if your Power Supply failed.

-------------------------
Antec 1650B
PC Power & Cooling Silencer 910w
ASUS M3A79-T DeLuxe
1090T x6 @Boiling in the La-Boratory
Corsair H70
OCZ Reaper 8500 2x2 *Pending
ASUS 5970 (under OC investigation)
EVGA 260 55nm (holding pattern)
SeaGate 320x2 16GB Sata
Creative X-Fi Elite Pro
Logitech Z-5500
XP Pro SP2
 08/13/2010 04:45 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Lockie
Lurker

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/13/2010

Than u for your reply festerz but my psu is powering up my system the issue is that the bios cant initialize the cpu so yeah must be fried..

-------------------------
Watercooled system
Asus crosshair iv
Amd Phenom 965Be Oc 3.8ghz
Crosshair proffesional 750 wat
Pny 4ghz 1.8ghz(2Ghz max oc)
Pny xlr8 9600gt
 09/26/2010 02:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
OC Maximus
Deprecated

Posts: 419
Joined: 04/29/2010

Marioland,

Got any updates for us?

OCM (383HEMI)

-------------------------
Phenom II 965BE @ 6.22GHz on LN2


 09/26/2010 02:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008

The Asus CH4 Formula bios 905 is straight up awesome , I have one that is still brand new in the box never used from NewEgg which i just received about 2 weeks ago , I will sell and deliver it for $200.00 . I also have a banging 1090T batch #1018 for sale for $200.00 . Send me a pm if anyone wants either part or both . Also many have purchased parts from me and have had complete builds done by me , my reputation is second to none around the net !

-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 09/27/2010 08:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
kleetus
Deprecated

Posts: 333
Joined: 04/24/2009

Bios update 1102 is great I think it helped with memory
I like rog connect to monitor temps,not to oc
I had to push cpu/nb volts to 1.259375 for stable memory of 2000mhz and used d.o.c.p profile 1 7-9-7-24 2T

other oc settings
bus speed 250
Phenom 11 x 6 1090t @ 4264mhz 1.464 volts
G-Skill FL 2x2gb @ 1.687 7-9-7-24-2t
cpu/nb volts 1.259
nb 3000mhz volts auto
htt 3000mhz volts auto

and yes there is alot of options in bios this is THE BEST BOARD EVER IMO
oc on this board has been fun and i just started

more to come from kleetus....

-------------------------
AMD Phenom II X6 1090T/CORSAIR H50
ASUS CROSSHAIR IV FORMULA
G.SKILL Flare 7-9-7-24 @2000mhz (4 x 2GB)
2-XFX 5850 1-285gtx PHYSX
Antec DF-85/AntecCP1000WATTS
WD X2 RAID 0 WITH WINDOWS 7 64/32

Edited: 09/28/2010 at 09:08 AM by kleetus
 11/22/2010 12:41 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

I've been enjoying my rig. Even at stock it will run most everything, of course there is a modest overclock.

Got 2 XFX HD 6870s from newegg, unlocked the voltage and enthusiast settings on the core and memory clocks. Can't wait to overclock these babies for wars.

Only thing left to do is tim the mobo heat sinks and see how far it will go when the time comes. My sons computer has windows XP on it so I'll probably test out ROG Connect.
If anyone has any experience with this function please post it here, any advice would be good and a big help.

Should be fun. Don't be afraid to stop by Skype. Porscheracer, cq, X, and myself have frequented there, stop in and say hi. Oh, and be prepared to chat, the voice option is awesome.
Should be a real help when it comes to overclocking.

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2
 11/24/2010 11:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
NemesisChild
ROGue Warrior

Posts: 2978
Joined: 11/28/2008

Been running the CH4 for about a week now, one of my best investments to date.
So glad I waited for the DDR3-2000 G. Skill Flare memory to return to stock at Newegg.
Grab them as soon as I got notification and sure enough, they were out of stock again a week later.
Call me crazy, but I hope to eventually SLI with 470's on this board sometime soon.

-------------------------
Phenom II X6 1100T B.E.@ 4.26GHz
Corsair H70 Core Hydro
ASUS Crosshair V Formula
2x4GB G.Skill RipjawsX@ 1894MHz, 9-10-9-28
SLI: 2x EVGA GTX 570's@ 902/1804/2032
Creative SB X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Corsair HX850W Modular
Cooler Master HAF 922
2x Win 7 Home Premium (x64)
 11/24/2010 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
pcnazz
Sub Zero

Posts: 2246
Joined: 05/17/2008



-------------------------
    Room Temp H20 | 2 Stage Cascade | PH II X6 1090T BE | PH II X2 555 / Asus CH4 v905 | i7 970 / Asus R2E v1914 | Corsair HX1000 1210W | Asus 5970 QF | Corsair Dominator GT 2000 | WD VR 3+0 Raid ( 450gb )
 01/14/2011 01:49 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
marioland
Driod

Posts: 154
Joined: 04/19/2010

Ran my first set of overclocks for warz. I'm liking the flexibility of this motherboard.

cpu 4.308 GHz @ 1.536v
nb 2721 MHz
ht 2268 MHz
ram 1846 6-8-6-21-29-1T

-------------------------
Corsair AX 1200w-|-ASUS Crosshair IV-|-AMD 1090T/Thermax Spire Eclipse II
G.SKILL Flare 4GB DDR3 1840 CL6-|-WD Black 500G X2 RAID 0
WD Black 1T SATA 6GB/s-|-2x HD6870 Cross Fire-|-case MM Ascension
Samsung P2350-1 23"-|-Logitech G15 keyboard-|-Logitech G9x mouse/SteelSeries Experience I-2
 01/18/2011 03:14 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
jhosua76
Lurker

Posts: 1
Joined: 01/18/2011

Only one question. Which RAM are you using with the AMD 1090T?
beside G.SKILL Flare 4GB (2 x 2GB) SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) F3-16000CL9D-4GBFLS
Thanks

Edited: 01/18/2011 at 03:30 AM by jhosua76
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information