AMD Processors
Decrease font size
Increase font size
Topic Title: Embarrasing forum performance
Topic Summary:
Created On: 08/10/2007 06:42 PM
Status: Read Only
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/10/2007 06:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Stern63
Member

Posts: 156
Joined: 08/08/2007

It would be very advantagous for you if you moved this forum to a server that is up to the task.

It becomes very embarrasing when you have a look at the current forum activity and find that less than a handful of participants are logged in, yet we - as forum users - have to endure extremely long reply times from the server you chose to use.

For me, it has occurred more that one time the last week I can assure you. I am very surprised to see this poor behavior of a professional site.

As you should have no problems to understand, this is completely unacceptable.

Please coorect this anomaly immediately.

Best regards,

/Håkan Sterner

Edited: 08/10/2007 at 06:42 PM by Stern63
 08/12/2007 10:58 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
JoeFriday
Member

Posts: 128
Joined: 07/20/2007

I concur. Hitting the refresh and then waiting up to 3 minutes for the page to finish a refresh on a high speed connection...something is amiss.

Combined with the "lost" threads it is clear that something is lacking.

Regards

-------------------------
DFI LP UT nF590 M2R/G (08/29/06)
Athlon 64x2 4200 (2.6GHz) (Cooling: Noctua NH-U12F)
OCZ PC8000 Ti Alpha VX2 2GB Kit (OCZ2TA1000VX22GK) (4,4,4,15, 1T @1040MHz)
Etasis Gaming Power ET850 850Watts
XFX 7900GS (620MHz/1800MHz) (Cooling: VF900Cu)
Testing
DFI Blood Iron P35/ E6700/ OCZ Plat Rev2 (2GB)/ OCZ 8800GTX/ OCZ Evo Stream 600/ Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
 08/12/2007 01:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

The server its self should be more than fast enough to handle the forum, especially with traffic being down as it has been lately. The problem is that there's some kind of hitch in the configuration of Fusetalk that's holding things up now and then.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 08/12/2007 01:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
MikeB12
Senior Member

Posts: 2452
Joined: 07/14/2007

That's kinda what I thought too... software or database issues...
It would be nice if it got corrected...

patches, patches, patches...

Vista Sp1. huh LOL!!!!

-------------------------
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.35v - True120 | Abit IP35pro | 2x2GB Gskil | 2 x EVGA GTS 250- shader 1890 | Corsair HX520 | OCZ Vertex 60GB/Seagate 7200.11 500GB
*x4 810@3250mhz 1.32v - Xigmatek S1283 | MSI K9A2 CF-F 790X | 2x1GB Kingston HyperX | 2 x MSI GTS 250- shader 1890 | Antec EW 500
*Q6600@3330mhz 1.36v - Scythe Mugen | Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L | 2x1GB Ballistx | XFX GTX 260 (192) shader 1512 | OCZ Stealth 500w
 08/12/2007 01:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

Yeah it would be nice. Unfortunately I can't do anything more about it than you guys can, except to bug the people who can do something about it... which has already been done.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 08/13/2007 01:11 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

And I thought it's my ISP... it but looks like everyone has the same problems.

I stick to my opinion that the old forum version was better.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 08/20/2007 12:00 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

Yeah, apparently almost every FuseTalk board I have seen has similar problems. Anything from page resets to database errors to long response times. I think AMD should have stuck with the Invision Power Board they had running. Never had a single problem, and although one or two features weren't as straight-forward as they could have been, it was a much more powerful and more useable system. It even looked better than what they have now. But, alas, they probably got a great deal on this one...

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 08/20/2007 12:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

The best deal would be no deal in cases like this...

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 08/20/2007 01:59 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

So, does anybody actually know WHY AMD decided to change forum systems? Most of the time, people want an UPGRADE of sorts when they switch from one piece of server hardware or software to another... It seems that this new forum system was a downgrade on all fronts... It's completely basic, the layout is poor and oversimplified, it's not very user-intuitive (even with its simplicity), it doesn't have any advanced features for power users who visit the boards a lot, and it doesn't exactly perform too well either.

It's like they got tired of the Ferrari and dumped it for a Honda Civic...

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 08/20/2007 08:17 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Many just do the upgrades if available and only after get interested in the specifics.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 08/20/2007 09:07 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Silk_the_Absent1
Senior Member

Posts: 15221
Joined: 02/02/2004

IPB was getting attacked a lot, but the reason it was less secure was because of the lack of administrative attention this place gets. It was never given updates, so as loopholes were found, they were never patched. And since the "upgrade" to this Fusetalk dren, well, not a whole lot of administrative presence now either (at least, according to the moderators who seem to be just as frustrated as the rest of us).

So, here's my message to AMD. This ain't a Ronco kitchen toy; you can't just "set it and forget it."

-Adam

Edited: 08/20/2007 at 09:07 AM by Silk_the_Absent1
 08/20/2007 12:07 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mime
Troll Hunter

Posts: 8517
Joined: 10/06/2003

There's actually more admin involvement now than there was shortly before the migration took place; it's just been behind the scenes so to speak where you all can't see it very well. I actually feel kind of bad for the current admins having everything dropped in their lap half broken. If the migration had gone smoother then there probably wouldn't be anywhere near this many problems, but unfortunately it didn't.

-------------------------
Containment Breach

Do not meddle in the affairs of archers, for they are subtle and quick to anger.
 08/20/2007 01:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
zir_blazer
Code Warrior

Posts: 2840
Joined: 03/19/2004

I agree. Invision Power Board were much better than this one (Both in fuctionality and stability), the only downside was that it was constantly getting hacked. Besides, a whole bunch of Links to AMD Forums specific Threads were broken in the migration.
 08/20/2007 05:29 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
bvchurch
Senior Member

Posts: 8655
Joined: 06/24/2004

You will hear no disagreement from me concerning these forums. Frankly I am certain that the backbone (network and server) behind the forums is perfectly fine and that the problem is with the software. I find myself spending less and less time here, in part because the forum is not user friendly (corny isn't it from someone like me but hey), as I know several other forums that I haunt, and while none of them to my knowledge feature fusetalk, the software on them seems better.
 08/21/2007 02:06 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

Originally posted by: bvchurch

You will hear no disagreement from me concerning these forums. Frankly I am certain that the backbone (network and server) behind the forums is perfectly fine and that the problem is with the software. I find myself spending less and less time here, in part because the forum is not user friendly (corny isn't it from someone like me but hey), as I know several other forums that I haunt, and while none of them to my knowledge feature fusetalk, the software on them seems better.


Agreed. I am just now getting to where I can tolerate this forum system. Even though I sit back and try to point out its better features, it is still, plain and simple, as horrid a forum system as I have ever seen. AMD would have done better off using PHPBB if you ask me. Only problem I have ever had with that board was spammers. And they are easy enough to deal with... delete user, ban e-mail address and IP. Problem solved. And if they used one or more of the many available CGI security plugins that interfaces with PHPBB, it could almost stop spammers from registering altogether (at least the bots, anyways).

I would like to know exactly whose brilliant idea it was to use a brand new (as far as I know), untested, unproven forum system for something as important as your enterprise's technical support forums. I mean, it is hard for me to even fathom how many millions of hits this/these server(s) get every day, and for the software to be giving me as many problems as it does, surely almost everyone who has registered has had at least a few issues when posting or even just browsing. It is just plain pathetic, despite the programmers' and system admins' good intentions and genuine attempts. Anyways, that's my rant. I had better quit now before I say something that could possibly get me banned...

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 08/21/2007 06:09 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Originally posted by: zir_blazer

I agree. Invision Power Board were much better than this one (Both in fuctionality and stability), the only downside was that it was constantly getting hacked. Besides, a whole bunch of Links to AMD Forums specific Threads were broken in the migration.

The hacking problem could of been solved with some version updates.
Almost all the known issues are now fixed in the latest version of the old board system.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
 08/25/2007 05:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
varianiv
Senior Member

Posts: 1254
Joined: 11/22/2004

It would be nice, but something tells me AMD has signed some sort of contract deal with FuseTalk, otherwise I would sincerely hope that they would have dumped this system for something more stable, long ago...

-------------------------
AMD Opteron 165 CCBBE (2.7GHz @ 1.35v)
DFI CFX3200-DR (07/28)
Kingston HyperX DDR500 (3-3-3-8-1T)
Asus Dark Knight Radeon 4870 1GB
Audigy 2
2x 74GB Western Digital Raptors in RAID0
500GB SATA-300 WD Drive
CoolerMaster RealPowerPro 850W
NZXT Zero full-tower case
Windows XP Pro SP2
 09/04/2007 10:08 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PorscheRacer14
Ardrid Returned

Posts: 5488
Joined: 06/05/2007

My bad, fixed the issue.

-------------------------
Multi-Core Upgrade Guide

Do you want a world ranking? Join Team Fusion in Forum Warz 2011!

Edited: 09/04/2007 at 10:35 PM by PorscheRacer14
 09/06/2007 06:52 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Overmind
Assimilator

Posts: 8052
Joined: 01/22/2004

Originally posted by: varianiv
It would be nice, but something tells me AMD has signed some sort of contract deal with FuseTalk, otherwise I would sincerely hope that they would have dumped this system for something more stable, long ago...

I concur.

-------------------------

World's best Red Alert 2: Yuri's Revenge mod and Star Trek: Starfleet Command 3 mod: Overmind.ro
Statistics
112018 users are registered to the AMD Processors forum.
There are currently 0 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.



Contact AMD Terms and Conditions ©2007 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. Privacy Trademark information