Topic Title: Flashing Texture Artifact Problem in EVERY GAME
Topic Summary: Driver setting or hardware issue?
Created On: 07/26/2012 05:19 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/26/2012 05:19 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ev3nt H0riz0n
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/26/2012

All my games have these flashing box artifacts on ALL map textures but it is most easily noticable on complex textures. Maxing out AA and Filtering doesn't make it go away but will sometimes lessen it.

GPU: SAPPHIRE 11188-22-20G Radeon HD 6950 2GB

OS: Windows 7 Professional x64

-doesn't appear to be a Driver version issue since I tried the latest beta and the old Catalyst 12.1 release.

-GPU temp is always 45-60C so nothing weird there
-it isn't an OS issue as games loaded up on Windows XP X32 (dualboot) with the latest Catalyst driver also have this issue.

SCREENSHOTS:

Half-Life 2 - 1

Half-Life 2 - 2

Counter-Strike:Source

Borderlands

Battlefield 3

 07/26/2012 07:09 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

Well, seeing as you ignored the FAQ thread and have neglected to post up what it asks for systemwise / softwarewise, then it could be anything from Aliens to Zebras .. people probably don't have the time to spend 10 years guessing at what the cause may be, so read that FAQ and post up what it asks for or the chances of a reply = nigh on zero ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 07/26/2012 07:12 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

Either the card is overclocked too much or it is faulty.

 

@fretboard:

There is no FAQ anymore.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/26/2012 07:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee

 

@fretboard:

 

There is no FAQ anymore.

 

Yeah there is .. see at top :

new topic / profile / search / help / FAQ / dashboard / home / logout ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 07/26/2012 07:25 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Ev3nt H0riz0n
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 07/26/2012

If it is overclocked too much it is Sapphire's fault as it is the "OC version" lol  I never messed with overclocking or unlocking it.

If you want additional hardware/software details here:

Speccy Profile
GPU-Z Graphics Card Info
GPU-Z Sensors

I also made a post in the 6900 series Sapphire support forum.

HERE

 07/26/2012 07:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Eydee
Ninja Zombie Killer

Posts: 4845
Joined: 12/27/2008

Originally posted by: fretboard
Originally posted by: Eydee

 

 

 

@fretboard:

 

 

 

There is no FAQ anymore.

 

 

 

Yeah there is .. see at top :

 

new topic / profile / search / help / FAQ / dashboard / home / logout ..

 

 

 

Oh, well. You have eage eyes. I do not. I wonder what was AMD thinking putting it there. Well, what were they thinking f*cking up the whole forum and removing half of it... But that's another story.



-------------------------

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 810 @ 3120MHz | RAM: Kingmax 2x2GB DDR2 800 @ 833MHz| MoBo: MSI K9A2 CF v1.0 (BIOS: 1.D)| GPU: Asus HD 6850 1024MB (DirectCu) @ 835/1135MHz | Display: L24FHD | PSU: PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750 Quad | OS: MS Windows 3.11 Pro x64

 07/26/2012 07:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

 

You also neglected to read the MASSIVELY UNMISSABLE BIG RED STICKY THREAD FAQ on their site too, I highly suggest doing so, as they'll as you to provide that information the same as here ( AMD's Mods stole it from my template on the Sapphire website ) .. and no, they don't have time to go clicking links for specs n stuff, that's up to you to provide as it's asked for .. there's a reason for it, so do it !!



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 07/26/2012 07:37 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
fretboard
Member

Posts: 329
Joined: 01/21/2010

Originally posted by: Eydee

Oh, well. You have eage eyes. I do not. I wonder what was AMD thinking putting it there. Well, what were they thinking f*cking up the whole forum and removing half of it... But that's another story.

Hehe ..  Yeah I know what you mean, still a shambles this place, and I like the way they've deleted the complaint threads about it and not bothered deleting the spambot posts ..



-------------------------

AM3 965BE / Corsair H70 / 4Gb Corsair XMS3 2000Mhz / GigaByte 990FXA-UD5 / Corsair Force3 90Gb / x2 HD3870 Atomic Edition / x4 1Tb Storage & Momentus XT 250Gb / Sony AD-7700 DVD-RW / Auzen X-Mystique / Enermax INFINITI 650W / Lian-Li PC-7FNWB / Logitech X-530 / Logitech KBoard & MX620 / Logitech C525 / Epson RX685 / DELL U2312HM

 08/01/2012 04:17 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Russ@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/30/2012

Please provide us with detailed information based in the FAQs located at http://forums.amd.com/game/faq.cfm

Based on the information provided in your initial post, your Sapphire Radeon HD 6950 may be defective.

Regards,

Russ@AMD



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied



Edited: 08/02/2012 at 09:19 AM by Russ@AMD
 08/03/2012 07:56 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
DavidEfreet
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 08/03/2012

I did not have flashing texture artifacts in all games but I have had random spike artifacts in games like the guild 2 and in star trek online (only in the nebula clouds, black triangular shaped). After a lot of google searching and drvier reinstalls that did not work, I came to a random simple post. I don't remember the address or I would give them credit, but if it helps others it's credit enough I think. In a "nutshell" try going to power options (change advanced power settings) for windows and setting your PCI Express setting under link state to maximum power savings. This stopped my gray and black artifacts in the guild 2 and the ones in STO as well. I have never overclocked or tried any fancy changes. Could be that this doesnt help anyone, but hopefully it could help a few people googling when they have problems. My card is a Radeon HD 7950, Machine HP Phoenix (Intel i7 3930K) Windows7-64

Statistics
84133 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.