Topic Title: Overheating HD6870
Topic Summary: Warlock - Master of the Arcane causing overheating
Created On: 07/28/2012 08:13 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/28/2012 08:13 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
PudgyOne
n00b

Posts: 1
Joined: 07/28/2012

I have been experiencing an overheating condition while playing this game whereby the screen goes black for a few seconds and then returns.  It can do this multiple times in a short period of time and then seems to stop for awhile.  I have a temperature monitor running in the background and it says the temperature gets up to 180 degrees F at its peak when the blackouts occur.  I am running Windows 7, 64 bit Home Premium with Radeon HD6870.  Machine sits on top of desk where air can flow freely.

How can I prevent this condition from happening?  It has done it in CIV V as well but much less frequently.  Both games are within STEAM.

 07/28/2012 10:11 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7061
Joined: 11/13/2009

Need to supply basic info  http://forums.amd.com/game/faq.cfm



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *HIS HD6970 2gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit


 * A clear conscience is usually a sign of bad memory *

 07/28/2012 10:42 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
steveo_crossfire
Long Time Member

Posts: 7015
Joined: 01/19/2009

Originally posted by: PudgyOne I have been experiencing an overheating condition while playing this game whereby the screen goes black for a few seconds and then returns.  It can do this multiple times in a short period of time and then seems to stop for awhile.  I have a temperature monitor running in the background and it says the temperature gets up to 180 degrees F at its peak when the blackouts occur.  I am running Windows 7, 64 bit Home Premium with Radeon HD6870.  Machine sits on top of desk where air can flow freely.

 

How can I prevent this condition from happening?  It has done it in CIV V as well but much less frequently.  Both games are within STEAM.

 

180 f  ( 82 c)   is not  hot enough to  cause a  over heat crash on it's own  ,  maybe the vrms are overheating but i doubt it !    (cause they can handle up to 115 c )

sounds like you have other issues besides overheating

like  stumped  mentioned  ,  please post that  important info



-------------------------

Rampage II Extreme , 920 @ 4.7 ghz , 12 gig Dominator  2000mhz  , xfx  7970 BE  crossfire   1300/1800  , 60g Vertex 3 raid0 , 120g Vertex 3 raid0 ,wd 2  tb black , xfx 1250 w   , Dell 3007 , x-fi forte , logitech z-5500 , logitech g510/g700

12.8 / 12.7cap3

http://s550.photobucket.com/albums/ii415/steve_hen/steveos%20rig/

 07/29/2012 11:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stargaz3rr
Grinding Levels

Posts: 147
Joined: 04/26/2012

is it common problem for HD 6870 ? i have that problem too a while back, "display driver stop responding and have recovered" with the screen goes black for a few second like you have, thank god the problem's gone after i get another HD 6870 replacement. 

82c is normal i think, when i got my replacement my tempt went to 80c, but now it never goes that high after a week, strange .



-------------------------

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-D3H, Intel i5 3570k 2x4 GB Kingston, Sapphire HD 7950 Vapor-XSeasonic M12II 850W, Windows 7 Ultimate x64, Seagate 500GB, Seagate 2TB

 07/30/2012 03:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
-rascal-
Farming Materials

Posts: 530
Joined: 01/15/2011

I've experienced the "display driver stop responding and have recovered" and black screen a couple times on my HD 6870 and 5850's.

For me, it had to do with the card jumping between the 2D and Idle clock speeds. I get this problem most of the time when running a browser-based Java applet or some kind of Adobe Flash content. On the new cards, the idle speeds are too low for 2D stuff, so the drivers freaks out. This problem doesn't happen on my older Radeon HD 4850 becuase the speed only drops down to 500MHz core / 750MHz Memory (3D speed is 625/933) [vs like 175 / 300 on the 6870 / 5850's].

Do you have your game running in Windowed mode or full screen? Windowed mode can cause your problem. Also, what programs do you have running in tbe background?

Things you can do:

1. go into the regestry (regedit) and disable ULPS. http://www.overclock.net/t/667144/crossfire-disabling-ulps

2. Make / change the idle and/or 2D clock speeds with MSi Afterburner.

3. Disable Hardware Acceleration for Flash content.



-------------------------

Phenom II X6 1090T @ 4.1GHz FX-8350 @ 4.8GHz // ASUS Crosshair V Formula 990FX // Sapphire Radeon HD Dual-X 7970 @ 1150/1500 // Thermaltake Frio w/ push-pull (using Antec Formula 7 Nano-Diamond + Cooler Master JetFlo fans) // 8GB (2 X 4GB) G.Skill RipJawsX 2133MHz  // Corsair TX850 850W // Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD (OS) // Kingston V200+ 120GB SSD // WD Caviar Black 1TB // Windows 7 Ult x64

Statistics
84255 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 4 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.