Topic Title: Random lockups/system freezes AMD 6850 crossfire mode
Topic Summary:
Created On: 07/30/2012 05:25 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 07/30/2012 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheAbel
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/30/2012

Hello all,
I have come to these forums because i have a problem for 4 months now and i cant seem to figure out. 

First my systemspecs:
Asrock X79 extreme 4 slot 2011 (Bios version 2.0 (latest))
Intel i7 3820
16 Gig Geil 1600 DDR 3 memory (4 dimms)
2 x MSI R6850 Cyclone Power Edition/OC (crossfire mode with bridge)
1 x OCZ agility 3 SATA III 2.5" SSD 120GB (System drive)
2 x Samsung HDD 500GB 7200rpm
TG600-BZ 600 Watt 4 rails max 20 amps per rail
Running Windows 7 64bit
Catalyst 12.6
12.7 CAP1
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So my problem:

When i have 2 cards inserted in crossfire mode my system goes true random lock ups and freezes. Up to several times a day.
While heavy load and gaming i sometime hear the system hang for a few seconds (sounds hangs system freezez) and then it continues to run.. usually that happens about 5-6 times before the system hangs locks up and does not respond anymore.. (i can hear the sounds hanging) and have to do a reset.
I had a few BSOD's getting the well know ATIKMPAG.sys error but that happen only twice.
Funny thing is that it does not always does this while under heavy load but also while doing YouTube video's.. even had one while cooking dinner.. (computer not in use).
Seems to be completely random. 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
So what have i done to fix the problem:

I have done a complete clean install of windows 7 only running basic drivers and hardware.. problem persists 
Check system event log on any problems but since it does sudden lockups there are no logs of these hardware events.
Did a check on my power saving options in windows.. made sure all were on performance.
I have run true Catalyst 12.3 to 12.6 and all kinds of cap's.. problem persists
Checked temp, does not come above 70 degrees Celsius.  (case temp not above 30)
Made sure i run the latest BIOS version of my motherboard.

Run a 24 hours memory test with memtest86+ no errors.
Did a heavy load and MSI burn in test on the single cards separately from each other continues to run perfectly.
I have run both cards separately from each other in my system (single card mode) for 2 weeks...(both PCIE slots) system runs like a charm.. no lockups no random freezes.

I have replaced my PSU with a 750 watt single rail 65 amp, problem still there.


So i hope anyone can help me, i have some experience troubleshooting computer problems but this one has me baffled. 
TheAbeL 

 07/30/2012 07:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 948
Joined: 09/11/2008

after reading:

http://forum-en.msi.com/index.php?topic=160322.0

 

and what you have here,I would almost be inclined to think it's a motherboard issue.I'm sure I missed it,But what Exact 750watt PSU did you buy?



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.

 07/31/2012 01:38 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheAbel
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/30/2012

Hey cant blame me for trying different forums.

Since i;m pretty stuck much stuck woth this problem.

I replaced my PSU with this one:  http://xfxforce.com/en-gb/Products/Power-Supply/XFX/Pro-Series/ProSeries-750W-PSU/750W-XXX-Edition-Semi-Modular-Silver.aspx

 07/31/2012 07:52 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Earnhardt
Case Modder

Posts: 948
Joined: 09/11/2008

OK,well you went with a much better PSU,So unless anyone else has anything,I would still say an issue with the motherboard perhaps.

Anyone you know that you can try your cards crossfired in there system?

 

the only other thing i can suggest:

1-uninstall CCC through control panel,add/remove(caps also)

2-shut down,remove second card,restart

3-install ccc and caps,shut down

4-reinstall second card,restart(of course plug in the power and bridge)

I have had this help a few people with crossfire issues and once for me for a build,worth a shot.



-------------------------

AMD Phenom II 1100t @4.0Ghz /Asus sabertooth 990fx/2x Gigabyte 3G 7950's in crossfire/500G samsung 840 ssd/16G G-Skill Ripjaw 1600/2-samsung 24" monitors 1920X1200/Corsair AX1200W psu/W7 pro 64,G19 keyboard,Roccat kone pure mouse,Cooler master HAF932,Corsair H100i water cooler,Zalman ram cooler.Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series,Logitech Z5500 speakers,Roccat Kave 5.1 headset.



Edited: 07/31/2012 at 08:00 PM by Earnhardt
 07/31/2012 08:26 PM
User is online View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 13076
Joined: 04/17/2008

Or try a 11.x driver set

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2012 01:37 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheAbel
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/30/2012

Thanks for the replies,

I'll try both options, and report back.

Can i still use the 12.7 cap with 11.x drivers?

 

 

 08/01/2012 05:01 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Russ@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/30/2012

Based on all the testing that you have completed so far, the issue seems likely to be related to the motherboard. Check that each MSI R6850 is installed into the PCI-E x16 bus – and not the PCI-E x8 bus for your motherboard. See http://www.asrock.com/mb/Intel/X79%20Extreme4/?cat=Specifications

 

As for your issue with the error ATIKMPAG.sys, please refer to the following articles, which may help you to isolate the issue further.

 

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-hardware/random-bsods-on-win-7-64-bit-caused-by-atikmdagsys/22405645-749b-4d62-92bb-e4710277c90d

 

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/windows_7-hardware/blue-screen-error-with-atikmpagsys-in-windows-7/5f0aebb6-b9b6-4a5d-a622-97c62dbb3d66

 

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-27116RadeonSeries-ATIKMDAGhasstoppedrespondingerrormessages.aspx

 

Generally, Catalyst Application Profiles (CAPs) build upon each previous release, so you should be able to run the latest CAP with an older Catalyst driver version.

 

Russ@AMD



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied



Edited: 08/02/2012 at 09:34 AM by Russ@AMD
 08/03/2012 05:55 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheAbel
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/30/2012

Hi Russ tnx for replying,

 

I already made sure that both cards are PCI-E 16, there in slot 1 and 3 wich are both 16x slots.

Also i tried what Earnhart suggested, no improvement problem still present.

But this, i installed 11.12 wich kinda fixed the problem.. no more random freezes.. But now i have this issue wich give me the report while runnning games:  

 

Display driver stopped responding and has recovered” error.

So it fixed it partially but got new problems now..

I'm lost..

 

 

 

 08/03/2012 12:39 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Russ@AMD
Forum Moderator

Posts: 27
Joined: 07/30/2012

Hi TheAbel -- We are glad to hear about your progress so far.

From our experience, the error "Display driver stopped responding and has recovered" is caused by the Timeout Detection and Recovery (TDR) feature in Windows Vista and Windows 7. 

We have noticed similar errors reported by other manufacturers such as nVIDIA, Matrox and others. For instance, the error "The display driver ATIKMDAG.sys has stopped responding" is similarly related to the reported error "The display driver NVLDDMKM has stopped responding".

As a start, I recommend that you take a look at the articles listed:

"How to troubleshoot 'Display driver stopped responding and has recovered', ATIKMDAG.sys type errors"

http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/737-27116RadeonSeries-ATIKMDAGhasstoppedrespondingerrormessages.aspx

Timeout Detection and Recovery of GPUs through WDDM

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/hardware/gg487368.aspx

 

Regards,

Russ@AMD



-------------------------

AMD Customer Care

The information presented in this document is for informational purposes only and may contain technical inaccuracies, omissions or typographical errors. Links to third party sites are for convenience only, and no endorsement is implied

 08/03/2012 01:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
stumped
Wizard

Posts: 7852
Joined: 11/13/2009

...and http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2665946  This has a link to Microsoft "Fixit"

edit: 8 is a good value



-------------------------

Intel I7 960 @ 3.87ghz *Intel DX58SO *AMD R9 290 4gb *Corsair TX650M *2x4gb Corsair XMS3 *WD Black 1TB *Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit ***Asus N71Jq laptop *Intel I7 720QM Processor *Mobility Radeon HD5730 1gb *8gb Ram *Windows 7 64bit ** Toshiba P75-A7200 * Intel I7-4700MQ * Windows 8.1 64bit 


***** cetera fallunt, ludere mortuus ******

 08/04/2012 02:20 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
TheAbel
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 07/30/2012

Tnx guys wil get on those fixes and report back.

Statistics
88930 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.