Topic Title: HD 7850 crashes
Topic Summary: Video card hd 7850 crashes 2-3 (sometimes more) times during the day
Created On: 08/01/2012 01:24 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/01/2012 01:24 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mantas739
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/01/2012

Since i have changed my video card to hd 7850 it is constantly crashing . Here is an example : postimage.org/image/sbs2xetct/.  After crash my computer still works fine but the view on display are full of black and green lines and i can not do something to change it. I have no choice - just force restart my pc. Because of force restarting i have damaged my hdd ( now i have a new one). So I think i must do something. There is no error text or something like that just green and black lines on the screen.  Could it be because of my 450w psu? HD 7850 requires minimum 500w. I have reinstaled all video drivers and installed new windows system but nothing has changed. Sorry for my english.

 08/01/2012 01:34 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Fishman
Master Looter

Posts: 362
Joined: 10/14/2011

Originally posted by: mantas739 Since i have changed my video card to hd 7850 it is constantly crashing .[/IMG]  Could it be because of my 450w psu? HD 7850 requires minimum 500w.

It is a VERY good possibility. What psu do you have?

http://forums.amd.com/game/faq.cfm



-------------------------

GA-MA-790FXT-UD5P/ AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black/2 x XFX HD5870 /RipjawsX 2x4gb DDR3 1333/ Corsair TX750M/ Antec 900 case/ Windows 7x64 Ult.


 

 08/01/2012 02:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mantas739
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/01/2012

I have codegen 450 w psu (in my opinion it is not the best , but not the worst psu ). Video card useage in games usually are about 60-90%, somtimes (very rarely) it reaches 99% . This is normal? Then I had hd 5570, card useage always had been 99%.Maybe it is because of low psu power too? My vga crashes at any time - when gamming and even then just surfing the net.

My computer spec.

CPU: intel core i5 2300

VGA: msi hd 7850 twinfrozr 2gb

Motherboard: intel blkdb65al

Mem: 6gb

PSU: codegen 450w

Hdd: WD caviar green 500gb

Os: windows 7 64bit

 08/01/2012 04:26 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Sorry, dude, but the only info I could get from that PSU is that it only has 16A on the +12V line???.. Could you confirm that number with your unit? side sticker??..

Because if that's correct, please change it.. Your 7850 draws around 120W (iirc), being +/-10A.. That's leaves only 6A (theoretically) for the rest of your parts.. Of course, I won't believe in those 6A to spare..

It's not enough power for your card and the rest of your system..

Here:

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/267954-28-codegen-450w-problem

Maybe it's not the cause of your current problem, but surelly will be a mayor issue in the near future due to the lack of reputation of that PSU brand...

My opinion: change it for a respectable brand unit, like Seasonic, Corsair, Enermax, XFX; that has only one rail, and at least "surely" 30A on the +12V rail..

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / CF-X 7970 + 7950 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 08/01/2012 04:38 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12890
Joined: 04/17/2008

Well let's see, that CPU of yours has a 95w TDP, which according to the Intel spec of CPU ratings means average, figure a fairly conservative 96w for an easy figure, that's 8A just for that, figure another 1A for drives and motherboard, leaving a massive 7A, or 84w (Watts = Volts x Amps) to power your graphics card, which is nowhere near it needs to be. IIRC the HD 5570 required no external power connection, meaning it had a 75w or less power draw. You need to upgrade to a brand like Mkissner said else you run the risk of burning out a component, or worse, overstressing the PSU causing a lethal electrical surge, or even worse, an electrical fire.

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2012 08:21 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mantas739
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/01/2012

I have checked my pc voltage.:1.   VCoreA - 1.05 V

                                                  2. +3.3V  - 3.34V  

                                                  3. +12V   - 8.74V

Normal volts should be +3.3V (3.2-3.4V) , +5V (4.8-5.2V) and +12V (11.6-12.4V). So, my voltages are outside of that range?

As I have understood the best way is to change my low end psu? Would it be enought - xilence ATX 580W PFC SPS-XP580? Or should I buy corsair  CX 600? What minimum power psu would be great for my pc?

Many thanks for your help!

 08/01/2012 09:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12890
Joined: 04/17/2008

Stop looking at cheapo garbage, get a Corsair, SeaSonic, Enermax, or XFX, and pull that HD 7850 out before you damage it!

-------------------------
AMD FX-8350 w/ Corsair H105, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX Gen3/R2, 8GiB G.SKILL DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, Corsair C70, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/01/2012 09:15 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Mkissner
Farming Materials

Posts: 597
Joined: 07/01/2010

Originally posted by: black_zion Stop looking at cheapo garbage, get a Corsair, SeaSonic, Enermax, or XFX, and pull that HD 7850 out before you damage it!

 

+1..

Please, get at least that Corsair unit you named.. And don't force your machine anymore, maybe only to check e-mail..

That Corsair unit is good enough.. Like we both have told you, get a PSU from those brands.. Don't get cheep on that.. Remember: the PSU is the heart of your system, even for future upgrades, so that is an investment that must be carefully...

 

Best regards..



-------------------------

8320 @ 4,7 / 990FXA UD5 / CF-X 7970 + 7950 / Switch 810 / H110 p-p / 16 GB RAM / 23" 5760x1080 / SSD 64GB RAID0 / HX750 / SB Recon3D Fatal1ty Champion / z506

 08/02/2012 05:25 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
mantas739
n00b

Posts: 4
Joined: 08/01/2012

Thanks a lot Im ordering a new psu today. Which in your opinion is better - corsair or coolermaster?

 08/02/2012 06:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
RatsAss
Farming Materials

Posts: 543
Joined: 02/12/2009

Corsair.

I have the CX 600 in my work pc. No issues with the 6770.



-------------------------

Gaming Rig
Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD7-B3 F7 bios
i7- 2600k ,Cooler Master V6GT
2x4 gig G-Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1333
Asus GTX 680
Corsair TX 850W PSU
Creative X-FI Titanium Champion, Logitech Z-5500
Win 7 x64 Ultimate(SP1), Antec DF-85 case.

Statistics
87535 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 5 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.