Topic Title: AMD Catalyst Crash Static and Computer Crash
Topic Summary: I went to overclock, and strands of static crossed the screen, and windows crashed telling me to reset the display adapt
Created On: 08/17/2012 02:47 PM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/17/2012 02:47 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CrazierCaptDice
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/17/2012

My computer, after I edited the overclock settings on GPU, when it would normally show the green and red when testing, showed static, and it crashed. And Windows tells me to check if anything is installed incorrectly and to reset the Display adaptor. And tells me so at a blue screen. I remember overclocking to around 695 MHz for one factor, and then the other one to 650 or 700, I don't remember exactly.My card is a ATI Radeon HD 5400 Series, my processor is a AMD FX 4170 Quad Core, and I used AMD Catalyst to overclock. Please, tell me how to fix this, even if it means "resetting the display adaptor".



-------------------------

Help me I am clueless.

 08/17/2012 02:59 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

If it crashes when overclocking, it may not be overclockable (see also: product binning). In either case, it's a HTPC class card, even if you were to achieve a 100% increase in clocks you wouldn't be able to do much with it because the guts just aren't there.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
 08/17/2012 03:05 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CrazierCaptDice
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/17/2012

Ok, but how do I fix this? How do I get it to stop doing this so I can exit safemode and get on with my life?



-------------------------

Help me I am clueless.

 08/17/2012 03:10 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CrazierCaptDice
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/17/2012

Can somebody help me fix it?



-------------------------

Help me I am clueless.

 08/17/2012 03:18 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CrazierCaptDice
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/17/2012

Help me! D:



-------------------------

Help me I am clueless.

 08/17/2012 03:36 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
CrazierCaptDice
n00b

Posts: 5
Joined: 08/17/2012

please someone help!



-------------------------

Help me I am clueless.

 08/17/2012 04:35 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12554
Joined: 04/17/2008

Uninstall the driver and CCC and reinstall, that resets it.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
85788 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 10 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.