Topic Title: HD6650M
Topic Summary: low performance in games
Created On: 08/19/2012 02:46 AM
Status: Post and Reply
Linear : Threading : Single : Branch
Search Topic Search Topic
Topic Tools Topic Tools
View similar topics View similar topics
View topic in raw text format. Print this topic.
 08/19/2012 02:46 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alex1711
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/19/2012

Hello I have an Acer Aspire with 6GB DDR3, i7 2.00ghz and 6650m with 1GB GDDDR3 .I think I have an issue with my GPU in games. For example, in BF3 it suggests me I run it on High, but i have low FPS, around 17, so I run on medium, but even on medium i have low FPS around 22-24.

I downloaded GPU-Z to track my GPU, and i see that my dedicated memory doesn't reach 1GB, but  maximum 450MB when on medium.  I ran it on Ultra just to see if it will reach it will reach 1GB dedicated memory used, but it stays at 600MB tops, and it says ultra should use around 1.5GB memory.

Do I have an issue or is the FPS normal for my current spec?

 

 08/19/2012 04:35 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

What Resolution are you trying to play with, with a 6650M?



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers

 08/19/2012 05:27 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
alex1711
n00b

Posts: 2
Joined: 08/19/2012

1600*900

 08/19/2012 05:57 AM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
Vantharas
Polygon Pusher

Posts: 3504
Joined: 03/01/2009

Eh you need to keep lowering it. A 6650 M is an entry level gaming card. 

IE 1280x720. Or whatever your monitor would support around there.

Just because its on "ultra" doesn't mean it should use 1.5gb of memory. Its not a linar scale like that. You would Need to have a resolution of higher then 1920x1080 to start seeing 1gb of memory used. 

I can get it to use up to 2.3gb of memory but thats running 3 screens. @ 1280x720 its around 500~700mb depending on what I'm doing.



-------------------------

I5 3570K@4~5.0ghz: Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H:Corsair Hydro H110 :16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR-3 1600: XFX Radeon 7950 @ 1100/1575 : Corsair AX 860 PSU: x1 WD Black 1TB HDD's: 90GB Agility 3: 960GB SSD : Creative Labs X-FI:Corsair 500R Arctic White Edition:3 22inch Monitors Eyefinity @ 5294x 1050 : Alienware Tact-X Keyboard: Razer Naga :Corsair Vengence 1500 Headset: Corsair SP2500 Speakers



Edited: 08/19/2012 at 06:12 AM by Vantharas
 08/19/2012 12:23 PM
User is offline View Users Profile Print this message

Author Icon
black_zion
80 Column Mind

Posts: 12203
Joined: 04/17/2008

Agreed, the power just isn't there in the MR6650 for that kind of gaming, and as well, that 2ghz CPU just doesn't have the backbone to push out higher frame rates at 1280x720 with those kinds of details.

-------------------------
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX/Gen3 R2, FX-8350 w/ Corsair H60, 8 GiB G.SKILL RipjawsX DDR3-2133, XFX HD 7970 Ghz, 512GB Vertex 4, 256GB Vector, 240GB Agility 3, Creative X-Fi Titanium w/ Creative Gigaworks S750, SeaSonic X750, HP ZR2440w, Win 7 Ultimate x64
Statistics
84156 users are registered to the AMD Support and Game forum.
There are currently 2 users logged in.

FuseTalk Hosting Executive Plan v3.2 - © 1999-2014 FuseTalk Inc. All rights reserved.